Kingsnympton, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Kingsnympton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||South Molton|
|Registration District||South Molton|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Rural Deanery||South Molton|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
KINGS-NYMPTON, a village and a parish in South Molton district, Devon. The village stands near the river Mole, 2½ miles E of South Molton Road railway station and 31/2 N of Chulmleigh. The parish comprises 5,539 acres. There is a chapel for Bible Christians, and an endowed school.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bible Christian Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Kingsnympton on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date accessed: 12 July 2013