Kingsdown St Matthew, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kingsdown St Matthew, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingsdown St Matthew, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barton Regis; Berkeley; Bristol City; Henbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol; Clifton
Registration District Bristol; Clifton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1870
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Kingsdown St Matthew is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Gloucestershire, created in 1850 from Bristol St James Ancient Parish, Montpelier Ecclesiastical Parish and Westbury-on-Trym Ancient Parish. No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for Kingsdown St Matthew. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Kingsdown St Matthew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ANC 1 = Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Gloucestershire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Kingsdown St Matthew Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1913
1754-1938
1813-1988
TGEN

1538-1844


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1813-1893
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Gloucestershire Archives.


Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]