King Sterndale, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to King Sterndale, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|King Sterndale, Derbyshire|
King Sterndale Christ Church Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chapel en le Frith|
|Registration District||Chapel en le Frith|
|Parish registers: 1851|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1864|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
King Sterndale is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1850 from Buxton, Derbyshire Ecclesiastical Parish.
STERNDALE (Kings), a chapelry in Bakewell, Hope, and Hartington parishes, Derby; 3 miles SSE of Buxton r. station. It was constituted in 1851, and its Post town is Buxton. Pop., 200. Houses, 32. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Lichfield..
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
King Sterndale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|King Sterndale Christ Church (1851) Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
King Sterndale Christ Church Originally a township in the parochial chapelry of Buxton, Derbyshire It was formed as a parish in 1851 with the addition of chapelries of Chelmorton, Taddington, Fairfield and Earl Sterndale. It was united in 1975 with the parishes of Buxton and Burbage.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D/4786 has deposited registers Bap 1851-1997 Mar 1852-1997 Burials 1852-1997
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
King Sterndale on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 29 June 2013.