Killington, Westmorland Genealogy
Guide to Killington, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Kendal|
|Parish registers: 1619|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1689|
|Rural Deanery||Kirkby Lonsdale|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal|
|Location of Archive|
|Westmorland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KILLINGTON, a chapelry, in the parish of KirkbyLonsdale, union of Kendale, Lonsdale ward, county of Westmorland, 4 miles (S. W.) from Sedbergh.
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Robinson, Judith M.S. (ed & publisher). A Year at Killington Hall. The 1876 Diary of Agnes Ann Kendal, life in Victorian England through the eyes of a farmer's daughter. Kendal, Cumbria: Judith M.S. Robinson. 2004. (111 pp). Diary but includes 4 generation drop line chart on family. Killington Hall and its farmland was part of the Ingmire Estate, then owned by the Dormer-Upton family. For a full review of this book search on BIGWILL reviews.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Killington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Killington Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog BTs||1813-1873||1813-1873||1813-1873|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Kendal Archive Centre.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 672-674. Date accessed: 30 July 2012.