Kilburn, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Kilburn, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Easingwold|
|Registration District||Helmsley; Thirsk|
|Parish registers: 1575|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Kilburn St Mary is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1732 from chapelry in Coxwold, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.
Other places in the parish include: Hood Grange, Wass, Thorpe le Willows, and Oldstead.
KILBURN (St. Mary), a parish, in the unions of Thirsk and Helmsley, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York, 7 miles (E. by S.) from Thirsk; comprising the townships of Kilburn, Oldstead, Thorpele-Willows, and Wass. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Kilburn exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org - free|
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|KILBURN PARISH (1602) Online Records|
|FS||1575-1625, 1636-1867||1602-1660, 1666-1847, 1860-1861||None
Deposited registers at North Yorkshire Record Office
1601, 1602, 1604, 1605, 1608-1610, 1632-1639, 1661-1673, 1675, 1694,1696-1698, 1702, 1703, 1705-1718, 1720-1807, 1809-1864, 1867
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.