To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kidder County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kidder County, North Dakota)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kidder County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Steele
Organized: January 4, 1873
Parent County(s): Buffalo [1]
Neighboring Counties
Burleigh  • Emmons  • Logan  • Sheridan  • Stutsman  • Wells
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaKidderCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Kidder Map.png
Adoption


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Jefferson Parrish Kidder, an 1858 settler in what became southeastern Dakota and who served as a delegate to Congress from Dakota from 1875 to 1879, and as an associate justice of the territorial supreme court during 1865-1875 and 1879-1883. The County is located in the center area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Kidder County Courthouse
120 E Broadway
PO Box 66
Steele, ND 58582
Phone: 701.475.2651
Kidder County Website

Clerk District Court has birth, death and burial records from 1943, divorce and court records from 1885;
County Judge has marriage records from 1887 and probate records from 1883;
Register of Deeds has land records from 1881[3]

Kidder County, North Dakota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1889 1886 1885 1873 1873 1873 1836
*State Dept. of Vital Records started births and deaths in 1923.
Full compliance by 1924.[5]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Allen
  • Atwood
  • Baker
  • Buckeye
  • Bunker
  • Chestina
  • Clear Lake
  • Crown Hill
  • Crystal Springs
  • Excelsior
  • Frettim
  • Graf
  • Haynes
  • Lake Williams
  • Manning
  • Merkel
  • Northwest
  • Peace
  • Petersville
  • Pettibone
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Quinby
  • Rexine
  • Robinson
  • Sibley
  • Stewart
  • Tanner
  • Tappen
  • Tuttle
  • Valley
  • Vernon
  • Wallace
  • Weiser
  • Westford
  • Williams
  • Woodlawn
Unorganized territories
  • Kickapoo
  • South Kidder


Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Kidder County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1880 89
1890 1,211 1260.7%
1900 1,754 44.8%
1910 5,962 239.9%
1920 7,798 30.8%
1930 8,031 3.0%
1940 6,692 −16.7%
1950 6,168 −7.8%
1960 5,386 −12.7%
1970 4,362 −19.0%
1980 3,833 −12.1%
1990 3,332 −13.1%
2000 2,753 −17.4%
2010 2,485 −9.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Before North Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of North Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[8] See links listed below.

Territory and State Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of North Dakota starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.

Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Kidder County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Sheridan CountyWells CountyStutsman CountyLogan CountyEmmons CountyBurleigh CountyND KIDDER.JPG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War Battles

The following Civil War battles were fought in Kidder County.

Map showing Civil War battles in North Dakota.

Online Collections[edit | edit source]

These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see North Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For more information, see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
NFargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Kidder County Genealogy and History
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kidder County, North Dakota. Page 524 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kidder County, North Dakota. Page 524 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 518.
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 562; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Kidder County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
  8. Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 511. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  9. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  11. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.