Keynsham, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Keynsham, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St John the Baptist Keynsham Somerset
|Poor Law Union||Keynsham|
|Parish registers: 1628|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1593|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Record Office|
KEYNSHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, the head of a union, and formerly a market-town, in the hundred of Keynsham, E. division of Somerset, 7¼ miles (W. N. W.) from Bath, containing the tything of Chewton-Keynsham. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. The poor-law union of Keynsham comprises 19 parishes or places, of which 14 are in the county of Somerset, and 5 in that of Gloucester.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Keynsham, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free|
|KEYNSHAM PARISH Online Records|
||1593-1624, 1629-1698, 1703-1901||
||1594-1624, 1628-1684, 1697-1858|| |
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 September 2013.
- 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
- Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.