To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kenwyn, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kenwyn, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kenwyn, Cornwall
Kenwyn Church Cornwall.jpg
Kenwyn Church Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

KENWYN (St. Cuby), a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall. [1]

Kenwyn St Keyne is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Kea, Cornwall was a chapelry of Kenwyn. Other places in the parish include: Short Lanes End and Tregavethan.

Kenwyn (Cornish: Keynwynn)is probably the mother church of Truro-the original dedication is doubtfully St Keyne (Keynwen is the earliest form of the name which would be 'Keyn' and -wen' (white/blessed): by the 15th century it was assumed to be St Kenwyn (no medieval records have it with the prefix 'Saint'). Subsequently the dedication was attributed to St Cuby. The manor of Kenwyn was held in the 12th century by Richard de Luci after it had been confiscated by the King. Apparently the borough of Truro was established by the lord in part of the manor and this was the beginning of Truro as a town, then called Triuereu. In Domesday Book the manor of Kenwyn appears as Tregavran (in later usage Trehaverne). It was in the possession over many centuries of the families of Lantyan, Beville and Grenville, and Enys.

The church is more or less 14th and 15th century in date: (south aisle and tower 15th century). Restorations were carried out (1820 to 1862). The churchyard provides a fine view over the city of Truro and above the lychgate is an upper chamber (probably a schoolroom).

Lis Escop (the Kenwyn Vicarage of 1780) became after the establishment of the Diocese of Truro the bishop's palace

The earliest form of the name is Keynwen (1259), from keyn ridge and gwen white but the modern Cornish form has been interpreted as "Splendid Chief".

Kenwyn St George, Cornwall was created as a result of boundary changes and gazetted in 1846.Truro St John,Cornwall was built as a chapel in Lemon Street Truro from within the parish in 1837/8.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.  The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Kenwyn parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Kenwyn Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Kenwyn.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites[edit | edit source]

Kenwyn in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 659-663. Date accessed: 18 March 2013
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk