Kent, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kent Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search
Kent Wiki Topics
Flag of Kent.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Kent Background
Local Research Resources
United Kingdom
England
Kent
Kent England

Guide to Kent ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

This article is about the county in England. For other uses, see Kent (disambiguation).

{{{link}}}

County Introduction

In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Kent like this:

'Kent, an important maritime county in SE. of England, bounded N. by the Thames and the North Sea, E. and SE. by the Strait of Dover, S. by the English Channel, SW. by Sussex, and W. by Surrey; greatest length, W. to E., 65 miles; greatest breadth, N. to S., 35 miles; 995,392 ac., pop. 977,706. The surface of the co. is hilly, being traversed E. and W. by the North Downs, a chalk range from 3 to 6 miles in breadth. On the N., along the shores of the Thames and Medway, there is a belt of marshland, which extends over a mile inland. ..."

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Kent parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Kent.



Adopt-a-wiki page
NWKFHSlogo.jpg This page adopted by:
The North West Kent Family History Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today



Civil Registration

List of Kent Civil Registration Districts

Websites