Kensworth, Hertfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Hertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Kensworth, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kensworth, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dacorum
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Luton
Registration District Luton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Berkhampstead
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Parish History

Kensworth, is a village and a parish in the district of Luton and county of Hertford. The village stands near the boundary of Bedfordshire, it is 3 miles SE of the Dunstable railway station. The parish  There are a Wesleyan chapel.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kensworth, Hertfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885


FMP 1616-1909 1616-1909 1615-1928 1615-1928 1615-1983 1615-1983

HERTS To 1837
IGI 1616-1877 1615-1885 (gaps)



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

1524/5 Subsidy
  • 1524/5 Lay Subsidy (E179/120/122 roll 5) has been microfilmed: FHL Film 2228679.
1626 Subsidy
  • 1626 Lay Subsidy (E179/121/329 membrane 2 dorse) has been microfilmed: FHL Film 2228680.
1628 Subsidies
  • 1628 Lay Subsidy (E179/121/331 roll 2 dorse) has been microfilmed: FHL Film 2228680.
  • 1628 Lay Subsidy (E179/121/333 roll 2 dorse) has been microfilmed: FHL Film 2228680.
  • 1628 Lay Subsidy (E179/121/336 roll 3 dorse) has been microfilmed: FHL Film 2228680.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Kensworth on GENUKI


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 20 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  5. 'Hertfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  8. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  9. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.