Kenosha County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kenosha County

Guide to Kenosha County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Kenosha County, Wisconsin
Map of Wisconsin highlighting Kenosha County
Location in the state of Wisconsin
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Founded January 30, 1850
County Seat Kenosha
Kenosha County Court House.jpg
Kenosha County Courthouse
1010 56th Street
Kenosha, WI 53140;
Phone. 262.653.2552

County Information

Kenosha County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1876 1850 1850 1838 1850

County Courthouse

Kenosha County Courthouse
1010 56th Street
Kenosha, WI 53140;
Phone. 262.653.2552

County Clerk has marriage records from 1900;
Register of Deeds has land records;
Register in Probate has probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1850--Kenosha County was created 30 January 1850 fromRacine County.  County seat: Kenosha [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Lake County, Illinois  • McHenry County, Illinois  • Racine  • Walworth


Bible Records



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
WITombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.


State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church History and Records

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Salem, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals


Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups





Land and Property

  • Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Kenosha County (USGenWeb Archives)



Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Kenosha County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Kenosha County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies F and M
- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company G
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C
World War I
World War II
  • Kenosha County Army Enlistees (USGenWeb Archives)

Naturalization and Citizenship




Probate Records

Online Records


See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Kenosha County Historical Society
6300 3rd Ave
Kenosha 53143-5102

Kenosha County Genealogical Society
4902 52nd St
Kenosha, WI 53142

Kenosha County Historical Society, Kenosha History Center
220 51st Place
Kenosha, WI 53140
Telephone: 262-654-5770

Western Kenosha Historical Society
PO Box 232
Trevor, WI 53179-0232
Telephone: 262-857-7345

Family History Center
Family History Library Holdings
Kenosha Wisconsin
1444 30th Ave N
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Telephone: 262-552-7816
Hours: T 9am-12:30pm, 6pm-8:30pm; W, Th 9am-12:30pm
Closed: Holidays & last 2 weeks of December


Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers



  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Kenosha County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).