Kennington, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kennington, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Kennington

Guide to Kennington, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kennington, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hormer
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599; For more records see Abingdon St Helen with St Nicholas; Separate registers exist for Kennington beginning 1829
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607; Separate records exist for Kennington beginning 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

KENNINGTON, a chapelry, partly in the parish of Radley, and partly in that of Sunningwell, union of Abingdon, hundred of Hormer, county of Berks, 3 miles (N. E.) from Abingdon. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Kennington chapelry part in Radley in GENUKI

Kennington chapelry part in Sunningwell in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 652-659. Date accessed: 27 March 2013.