To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kendal, Westmorland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kendal, Westmorland)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kendal, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kendal, Westmorland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kendal; Lonsdale
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union Kendal
Registration District Kendal
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kendal
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

KENDAL (Holy Trinity), a newly-enfranchised borough, a market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in Kendal ward, but partly in Lonsdale ward, county of Westmorland. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends,Glassites,Independents,Inghamites,Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, Scottish Seceders, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics. The parish comprises the chapelries of Burneside,Crook, Helsington, Hugil, Old Hutton with Holmescales,Kentmere, Natland, Long Sleddale, Nether and OverStavely, Underbarrow with Bradley-Field, and Winster.[1]

Kendal is an ancient parish, possessing the following townships with chapelries within its boundaries: Burneside, Crook, Grayrigg, Helsington, Hugill, Kentmere, Sleddale, Natland, New Hutton, Old Hutton, Selside, Stavely, Underbarrow, and Winster.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Kendal parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
TGEN = Westmorland Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Kendal Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


JOIN

1538-1837


TGEN 1558-1631
1591-1631
1591-1631
IGI 1558-1751, 1605-1749, 1679-1698,
1683-1802, 1750-1779, 1803-1823,
1819-1826, 1825-1845

1557-1617, 1679-1721, 1744-1758,
1750-1760, 1761-1770, 1769-1795,
1790-1801, 1801-1806, 1819-1825



FS Catalog PRs
1558-1907
1558-1907
1558-1907
FS Catalog BTs
1721-1845
1721-1845
1721-1845

Kendal All Hallows parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Kendal All Hallows Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


JOIN

1538-1837


FS Catalog BTs
1883-1940




To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Kendal Archive Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

In December 1787 the Westmorland Court of Quarter Sessions commissioned a population survey of the county. Parish constables were ordered to send in returns listing the names and occupations of the members of every household in their constablewick. This census is found in Vital Statistics, The Westmorland "Census' of 1787. This book is available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah. The library call number is British Ref. Area 942.88 X2v.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 646-652. Date accessed: 27 July 2012.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk