Kemper County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Kemper County

Guide to Kemper County Mississippi ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Kemper County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Kemper County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 23 December, 1833
County Seat De Kalb
Courthouse
MississippiKemperCourthouse.jpg
Address Kemper County Courthouse]
Bell St; PO Box 188
De Kalb, MS 39328
Phone: 601.743.2560
Kemper County Courthouse



County Information

Kemper County, Mississippi Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Kemper County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1912 1912 1912 1840
1881
1881

County Courthouse

Kemper County Courthouse
Bell St; PO Box 188
De Kalb, MS 39328
Phone: 601.743.2560

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1912. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate, court and land records from 1912. [1]

History

Parent County

1833--Kemper County was created 23 December 1833 from the Choctaw Cession.
County seat: De Kalb [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1882--Some records were lost in a courthouse fire.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Some African American records are found in slave schedules, the Freedman's Bureau, and the Freedman's Bank. Sometimes land and probate records of the slave owners will include slave names.

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MSGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.

A list of cemeteries can be found Kemper County Mississippi GenWeb

Census

For tips on accessing Kemper County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Kemper County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Some military records are available on the Mississippi Department of Archives and History website, which has a searchable catalog. The types of records found here include "Confederate records, State Auditor’s Confederate pension files, Military Department/Adjutant General series, Veterans’ Affairs Board records, and U.S. military records. The archives has nearly 400 manuscript collections associated with the different wars in which Mississippians have served. The Mississippiana collection includes military history books as well as indices to service records and pension rolls. The archives also has many photographs with military subjects."[3] 

Civil War


  • Men from Kemper County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Kemper County. 
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry Reserves
Company C - Lampley’s Company
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company H - Kemper Dragoons
- 5th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company I - Kemper Rebels, aka Kemper Guards
- Perrin's Battalion, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company A - Perrin’s Company
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company A - Perrin’s Company
Company F - Steele’s Company

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kemper County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Kemper County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Kemper County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

The state of Mississippi was not required to keep birth or death certificates by law until 1 November 1912. Birth and death records since that time have been kept by the Bureau of Vital Statistics.[4]

Marriage
Divorce
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kemper County, Mississippi page 380, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://mdah.state.ms.us/new/research/genealogy/
  4. http://birth-certificates.net/mississippi.htm
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/b/be/Igimississippij.pdf.