Kemble, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Kemble, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Kemble

Guide to Kemble, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kemble, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Malmesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Cirencester
Registration District Cirencester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

KEMBLE, a parish in the district of Cirencester and county of Wiltshire. It is also adjacent to Gloucestershire and 4 miles SW of Cirencester.[1][2]

Kemble is located in the hundred of Malmesbury, Malmesbury and Kingswood. It includes the Tythings of Ewen and Wick.

The Thames and Severn canal are located close to Kemble and the Cirencester Junction station of the Cheltenham and Great Western railway.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kemble parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[3][4][5][6]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[8]
FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[10]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[11]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[12]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[13]
KEMBLE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1753 1679-1753 1679-1812 1679-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1915 1813-1915
BOYD
1679-1812

FHSO 1801-1837
FREG
1679-1812

JOIN
1679-1812

NBI

1813-1858
NIM
1605-1837

TGEN
1679-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 646-652. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  6. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  7. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Grouped with Gloucestershire.
  8. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  9. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  10. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  11. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  12. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  13. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.