To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kelsale with Carlton, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Kelsale with Carlton

Guide to Kelsale with Carlton, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kelsale with Carlton, Suffolk
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hoxne
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Blything
Registration District Blything
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Carlton beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698; Separate records exist fo Carlton beginning 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

KELSALE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Blything, hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 1 mile (N.) from Saxmundham. The living is a rectory, with that of Carlton consolidated in 1679.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources[edit | edit source]

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centres. Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Kelsale with Carlton is in Blything district. It was also a detached part of the Hoxne Hundred. To search an index of Blything district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Kelsale with Carlton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Suffolk Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Suffolk, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1850 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Kelsale with Carlton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1911
1536-1902
1538-1909
ANC 1538-1850
1538-1850
1538-1850
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Suffolk Record Office.

Carlton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Carlton Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1831-1837
BIVRI 1876-1885
1538-1886

BOYD
1538-1837

FMP 1538-1840 1539-1812 1540-1812
IGI 1538-1875


NBI

1540-1902

Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 643-646. Date accessed: 20 February 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk