Kegworth, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Kegworth, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kegworth St Andrew, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1577|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KEGWORTH (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 11 miles (S. E. by E.) from Derby. At Isley-Walton is a chapel of ease. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans. 
On the 8th of January 1989. British Midland Flight 92, a Boeing 737-400, crashed onto the embankment of the M1 motorway nearby when attempting an emergency landing at East Midlands Airport. Of the 126 people on board, 47 died and 74 sustained serious injuries.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Kegworth registration became part of the Loughborough registration district on 1 April 1938
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Kegworth, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Kegworth, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Kegworth deposited parish registers at Leicester Record Office Bap 1556 - 1949 Marr 1556 – 1984 (Banns to 1922) Bur 1556 - 1953
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
John Charlton's Will of Kegworth 1711. An extraction of names from John Charlton's Will who was living in Normanton Upon Soare, Nottinghamshire, being requested to be buried in the Chapel of Kegworth, near to his mother as possible. Transcription gives a list of names, relationship, to John Charlton, and some where they lived, and their occupation. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.CH 22/5, and transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 117, page 51, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.