Karlskrona City, Blekinge, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Karlskrona City, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Blekinge
Karlskrona City

Guide to Karlskrona City, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

Information about when the city was created. Geographical location, what county and province it belongs to, with the neighboring parishes in context to family history research.

Parishes

Karlskrona: Amiralitetsförsamlingen parish, Sweden Genealogy|Karlskrona Amiralitetsförsamling

Karlskrona: Tyska församlingen parish|Karlskrona tyska församling

Karlskrona: Tyska församlingen parish|Fredrika Dorotea Vilhelmina

Karlskrona: Stadsförsamlingen parish, Sweden Genealogy|Karlskrona stadsförsaming

Karlskrona: Stadsförsamlingen parish, Sweden Genealogy|Storkyrkoförsamlingen]

Karlskrona: Fångförsamling parish, Sweden Genealogy|Karlskrona fångförsamling

Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:


Other Congregations

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Blekinge Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Blekinge" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Societies and Libraries

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

  • First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
  • Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
  • All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
  • Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
  • Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.

See Sweden Research Strategies for locating various records in specific time periods.

References