Karlskoga Parish, Örebro, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Örebro County
Karlskoga


Guide to Karlskoga Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Karlskoga-church
Degerfors Church
Karlsdals Chapel
Luneds Church
Österleds Church
Söder Church.jpg

History

Karlskoga Municipality is a municipality in Örebro County in central Sweden and its seat is located in the city of Karlskoga.
Karlskoga was formed as rural municipality when the first Swedish local government acts came into force in 1863. In 1925 the southern part was detached, forming Degerfors Municipality.
In 1940 the whole municipality, including its non-urban areas, got the title of a city. These titles were abolished in 1971. Karlskoga originally included Degerfors and Karlsdal parishes.
[1]

Karlskoga Parish, Örebro, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift 1586- Karlstad
Pastorat -1752 Karlskoga and Bjurtjärn about 1630 - 1752, 1586- Karlskoga about 1630, 1753 - 1869 Karlskoga, Bjurtjärn and Karlsdals kapellförsamling, 1869-1882 Karlskoga and Karlsdals kapellförsamling, 1883-1922 Karlskoga, Karlsdals and Degerfors kapellförsamlingar, 1923-1925 Karlskoga and Degerfors kapellförsamling, 1926- Karlskoga
Län 1631-1638 Närke-Värmland, 1639-1642 Örebro, 1643-1647 Nora (or Järla), 1648-1653 Örebro, 1654-1778 Närke-Värmland, 1779- Örebro
Landskap Närke
Härad 1586- Karlskoga bergslag
Tingslag 1586-1970 Karlskoga bergslag
Domsaga -1829 Östersysslet, 1830-1854 Västernärke, 1855-1950 Nora, 1951- Karlskoga
Fögderi 1720-1856 Leke and Karlskoga, 1857-1917 Nora, 1918- Karlskoga
Kommun 1863-1939 Karlskoga, 1940-1970 Karlskoga stad, 1971- Karlskoga
Militär indelning ---
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/10513
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link

Some of the places had different names depending on the time period. 

Arvsviken = Lervikstorp
Backebergshälla = Backeberga
Bottsbol = Agen
Brattbäcken = Bratta
Bregården = Bredgården
Brickegården = Bryttiergården
Sibbohult = Österhult
Spjutberg = Berg
Stolpetorp = Noltorp, Norrtorp
Västra Kedjeåsen = Köllebråten
Östra Nytorp = Labbesand
Älgåsen = Vall
Älgsimstorp = Fallet
Älvkärr = Elgkärr

Ängebäck = Agetorp
Äspedalen = Lonnkullen


Place Names

Abborkärn, Agen, Agetorpet, Aggerud, Arfsviken

Backa, Backberga, Backebergshälla, Backebergstorp, Baggängen, Berg, Berget, Björkborn, Björkbosk, Björkmo, Björkärnstorp, Björkviken, Björndalen, Björnudden, Björtorp, Blinäs, Bobäcken, Bodalen, Bofalla, Bofors, Bohult, Bonstorp, Bottesbol, Bottorp (Lilla), Brattbäcken, Bregården, Bregårdsskogen, Bregårdstorp, Brickegården, Bricketorp, Bråten, Brännebacken, Bäck

Christopherstorp

Dalen, Dalsmund, Dankebacken, Degerfors (Nedre), Degernäs, Degernästorp, Duvedalen

Elgsommer, Elgarmstorp, Elgsen, Engebäck, Engnäs, Espedalen, Esphöjden

Fattighuset, Finnebäck, Finnetorp, Fisklösen, Fisksjön, Fisksjötorp, Fornäs, Fornästorp, Forsby, Fågelmo

Gottebol, Granberga, Granbergsdalen, Granbersgdalshyttetorp, Granbergsdalshögden, Granåsen, Gren, Gräsholmen, Gräsholmstorp, Gräsmossen, Gräsmåke, Gälleråsen, Gällsjötorp

Holmtorp, Hållsjötorp, Högberg, Högfors, Högåsen

Immen, Immetorp, Immetorp, Immetorpsallmänn

Karlsdal, Karlslund, Karåsen, Kedjeåsen (Västra/Östra), Kilsta, Klockargården, Knapped, Knappfors, Knutsbol, Kortforstorp, Kringelhult, Krontorp, Kråkelund, Kyrkotorp, Källmo, Kärne (Västra/Östra)

Labbsand, Lanehögden, Lenhult, Lervik, Lerängen, Lilla Strömtorp, Lindås, Linhult, Linnebäck, Linnebäckstorp, Linhögden, Lofallet, Lonntorp, Lund, Lundedet, Lämås, Långsjöbäcken

Malmhögden, Mossberga, Mosserud, Måsen, Mörtbäcken

Nolby, Nolhult, Norrgrytstorp, Norrhult, Nyböle, Nyttorp

Pottermyron, Prestegården

Qvarnberg, Qvarntorp

Rishögden, Rosendal, Rosensjö, Råbäck, Rådehult

Sandbäcken, Sandviken, Sibberboda, Sibbo, Sibbofors, Sibboholm, Sibbohult, Skogskärr, Skolan, Skråmmen, Smälthyttan, Spjutberg, Spänarn, Stenbäcken, Stenkullen, Stockberga, Stockforsen, Stockforstorp, Stolpetorp, Stora Bottorp, Stora Strömtorp, Storängen, Storängstorp, Stråbergsmyren, Stråbergsmyretorp, Stråningstorp, Strömed, Strömsnäs, Strömtorp, Svartbäcken

Torpskog, Trehörningen, Tällekullen

Utterbäck

Vall, Valåsen, Vibäck, Viken, Vismen, Vismenästorp, Våtsjötorp, Vägen, Västansjö, Västra Kedjeåsen, Västra Kärne, Västra Lonntorp, Västra Nyttorp

Watsjötorp

Åby, Åbylund, Ålkärr. Åsbergsvikan, Åsbergsviketorp

Älgsimmen, Älgsimstorp, Älgåsen, Älvkärr, Ängebäck, Äspedalen, Äspehöjden, Äspenäs, Äspsäter

Ölsdalen, Ölsdalstorp, Österhult, Östervik, Östra Kedjeåsen, Östra Kärne, Östra Lonntorp, Östra Nyttorp

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Örebro Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Örebro" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Tax Records

Tax records for Karlskoga parish - This is a transcription of information from the tax records, primarily the mantalslängder, for Karlskoga parish, organized according to names of the small places within the parish. Most of these transcribed records begin in the early 1600s and continue through 1713. They were copied from microfilm records at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, (Mikrofilmer av manuskript i Riksarkivet i Stockholm Filmat för the Genealogical Society of Utah av Rekolid, 1953,1963). Abbreviations: b or m = bonde or man; h=hustru (wife); dot=dotter (daughter); dr=dräng (male worker); p=pigan (female worker); mag=måg (son-in-law) sonshust = sons hustru (son’s wife); enk or änk=änka (widow); soldat (soldier). A semicolon ; is used to separate households. The numbers after the names indicate the number of taxable persons in the household. Note: Diacritics were not available when this index was created, so names such as Månsson and Pärsson were written as Mansson and Parsson. But Jönsson was written as Jo”nsson to distinguish it from Jonsson.

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Societies and Libraries

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Riksarkivet. "Karlskoga Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). February 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Karlskoga, Husförhörslängd 1841-1845, Ortregister