Kansas Heritage Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Kansas go to Ford Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries go to Kansas Heritage Center

Kansas Heritage Center
Kansas Heritage Center

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  library@ksheritage.org

Address:[1]

Mail: PO Box 1207
Street: 1000 North 2nd Avenue
(School Administration Building Main Floor)
Dodge City, KS 67801-1207

Telephone:[1]  620-227-1616
Fax:  620-227-170

Hours and holidays:[1]  8 a.m.–5 p.m. weekdays; Holidays: school vacations (Thanksgiving, Christmas, Spring Break, etc.) hours are limited; call ahead.

Map and public transportation:

Internet sites and databases:

  • Kansas Heritage Center on-site research, specialized library, photos, audio-visual material, microfilm, teaching kits, programs, contact information.
  • Categories show the main subject divisions of their collection.

Collection Description

The Kansas Heritage Center is a social studies resource center operated through Unified School District 443 in Dodge City, Kansas. Their emphasis is history — especially the history of Kansas, the Great Plains and the Old West. They have a research library of books, microfilm, and vertical file materials.[2]

The library holds over 6,000 volumes covering U.S. exploration, the westward movement, Civil War, Territorial Kansas and statehood, development of the Old West, and contemporary themes. The Santa Fe Trail is especially well covered. The Center’s collection includes 4,500 photographs of the Old West, early Dodge City, and some surrounding towns. Photographs date from 1872 to the present. 500 video titles are available on topics like the history of Kansas, the Great Plains, and the Old West. Their microfilm collection includes most of the newspapers published in Dodge City from 1876 to the present, newspapers from several other Kansas towns, selected Kansas and U.S. census records, military records from Fort Dodge, and some historic Sanborn Insurance maps from many Kansas communities[1]

Tips

  • To accommodate patrons who cannot visit in person, they will conduct research for a nominal fee.

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the Kansas Heritage Center, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, bounty land, homesteads, ethnic sources, prisons, fed employees.[3]
  • National Archives at Kansas City federal censuses 1790–1930; military service indexes, pension indexes, passenger lists, naturalizations, photos, vital records, land, and Indian records.[4]
  • Family History Library, Salt Lake City, 450 computers, 3,400 databases, 2.5 million microforms, 4,500 periodicals, 310,000 books of worldwide family and local histories, censuses, civil, church, immigration, ethnic, military, and Mormon records.[5]
  • American Historical Society of Germans from Russia, Lincoln NE, AHSGR ancestor lists, cemeteries, homesteads, an AHSGR German hometowns list, passenger lists, obituaries, surname charts, and Russian village files.[6]
  • National Orphan Train Complex, Concordia, museum, history, rider registry, research, and events. 66 v. (20,000 records) of orphan train riders, photos, 9,700 name computer database.[7]

Similar Collections

  • Kansas Genealogical Society, Dodge City, has the best set of family folders and genealogical periodicals in Kansas.[8]. Also, clippings, obituaries, and an online catalog.
  • Kansas Historical Society, Topeka, clearly the best place to start researching Kansas ancestors including newspapers, county records, biographies, genealogies, land records, and railroads.[8] Statewide births and deaths prior to 1894; City of Topeka births and deaths 1885-1912.[9]
  • Topeka Genealogical Society Library, 12,000 books, 700 periodicals strong on Shawnee County and northeast Kansas. Also includes almost every U.S. state, and many foreign nations.[10]

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Research in Kansas Heritage Society (accessed 13 February 2016).
  2. About Us in Kansas Heritage Center (accessed 13 February 2016).
  3. William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 2. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Book 973 J54d.
  4. Dollarhide and Bremer, 67.
  5. Dollarhide and Bremer, 1 and 109.
  6. Research Library in American Historical Society of Germans from Russia (accessed 3 February 2016).
  7. Amanda Wahlmeier, Orphan Train Research Center curator, orphantraindepot@gmail.com, 28 September 2012, e-mail to David Dilts, DiltsGD@familysearch.org.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 8.6 8.7 8.8 Dollarhide and Bremer, 47.
  9. Births, Deaths, and Marriages in Shawnee County (accessed 8 February 2016).
  10. Topeka Genealogical Society Library in Topeka Genealogical Society (accessed 4 February 2016).
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America (Draper, Utah : Everton Publishers, 1981), 104. WorldCat 866190599.
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 Alice Eichholz, ed., Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 235. Ancestry digital copy ($); WorldCat 55947869; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  13. KDHE Office of Vital Statistics in Kansas Department of Health and Environment (accessed 4 February 2016).
  14. Midwest Genealogy Center in Mid-Continent Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).
  15. Dollarhide and Bremer, 47 and 67.
  16. Special Collections in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).