Kansas Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Kansas Wiki Topics
Kansas flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Kansas Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

Kansas became the thirty-fourth state admitted to the United States on January 29, 1861. It will only appear in federal censuses from 1860 onwards.

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1860 1870 1880
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1890 1900 1910
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1920 1930 1940
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com

Non-Population Schedules for Kansas[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1880 Defective at Ancestry
1880 Mortality at Ancestry
1880 Manufacturing at Ancestry
1880 Agriculture at Ancestry
1870 Social Statistics at Ancestry
1870 Mortality at Ancestry
1870 Agriculture at Ancestry
1860 Social Statistics at Ancestry
1860 Mortality at Ancestry
1860 Industry at Ancestry
1860 Agriculture at Ancestry

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year Type of Census Links
1925 State, all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1915 State, all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1905 State, all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1895 State, all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1885 State, names of all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1875 State, names of all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1865 State, names of all household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry

1859 Territorial at Ancestry
1858 Territorial (Johnson and Marshall Counties) at Ancestry
1857 Territorial at Ancestry
1856 Territorial (select counties) at Ancestry
1855 Territorial at Ancestry

Other Census Images[edit | edit source]

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service

Sources and footnotes[edit | edit source]