Kandiyohi County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Minnesota
Kandiyohi County

Guide to Kandiyohi County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Kandiyohi County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Kandiyohi County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 20, 1858
County Seat Willmar
Courthouse
Address Kandiyohi County Courthouse
400 Benson Ave SW
Willmar, MN 56201-3281
Phone: 320.231.6532
Kandiyohi County Website


County Information

Description

The County was named for the Dakota language "where the buffalo fish come". The County is located in the central area of the state. [1]

Kandiyohi County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1880 1870 1850 1858 1867

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, death,
divorce and court records from 1870. [3]

History

Parent County

  • 1858--Kandiyohi was created 20 March 1858 from Davis (Eliminated 20 Feb 1862), Meeker, Pierce (Eliminated 20 Feb 1862), Stearns and Renville Counties.

County seat: Willmar [4]

  • For a brief history of how Kandiyohi Co. was named, click here.  Then select Kandiyohi Co.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Atwater | Blomkest | Kandiyohi | Lake Lillian | |New London | Pennock | Prinsburg | Raymond | Regal | Spicer | Sunburg | Willmar

Townships

Arctander Township | Burbank Township | Colfax Township | Dovre Township | East Lake | Lillian Township | Edwards Township | Fahlun Township | Gennessee Township | Green Lake Township | Harrison Township \ Holland Township | Irving Township | Kandiyohi Township | Lake Andrew Township | Lake Elizabeth Township | Lake Lillian Township | Mamre Township | New London Township | Norway Lake Township | Roseland Township | Roseville Township | St. Johns Township | Whitefield Township | Willmar Township

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MNGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MNInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

Atwater Lutheran Church, Grove City

  • Records of Atwater Lutheran Church, Grove City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

Calvary Lutheran Church, Willmar

  • Records of the Calvary Lutheran Church, Willmar, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

St. John's Lutheran Church, Raymond

  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Raymond, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

Trondhjem Lutheran Church, Atwater

  • Records of Trondhjem Lutheran Church, Atwater, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Kandiyohi – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Kandiyohi County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Pope CountyStearns CountyMeeker CountyRenville CountyChippewa CountySwift CountyMN KANDIYOHI.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kandiyohi County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

Kandiyohi County Historical Society
610 Highway 71 NE
Willmar MN 56201-2650
Telephone: 320-235-1881
Website

Atwater Area Historical Society
PO Box 258
108 3rd St N.
Atwater MN 56209
Website

Heritage Searchers of Kandiyohi County
PO Box 175
410 SW 5th St
Willmar 56201-0175
Genealogical Research Library within Willmar Public Library
Website

Southwest Minnesota Historical Center, Social Science 141
Southwest Minnesota State University
1501 State Street
Marshall, MN 56258
Telephone: 507-537-7373

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Kandiyohi County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kandiyohi_County,_Minnesota accessed 13 Nov 2018
  2. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kandiyohi County, Minnesota page 365, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.