Kanabec County, Minnesota Genealogy
Guide to Kanabec County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Kanabec County, Minnesota|
Location in the state of Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
|Founded||October 12, 1858|
|Address|| Kanabec County Courthouse|
18 Vine Street N
Mora, MN 55051
Kanabec County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for the Ojibwe word for "snake," after the Snake River. The County is located in the east central area of the state. 
Kanabec County, Minnesota Record Dates
Clerk District Courth has birth and death records from 1883,
marriage, divoce, and court records from 1882
and probate records from 1891.
County Recorder has land records.
Mora City Hall has burial records. 
- 1858--Kanabec County was created 12 October 1858 from Pine County but was not formally organized until 1881. It was attached for a period of time to Chisago and Pine counties. County seat: Mora 
- For a brief history of how Kanabec County was named, click here, then select Kanabec County.
1894 The courthouse was burned by fire in March; some records were destroyed.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in the Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle.
Braham | Grasston | Mora | Ogilvie | Quamba
Ann Lake Township | Arthur Township | Brunswick Township | Comfort Township | Ford Township | Grass Lake Township | Hay Brook Township | Hillman Township | Kanabec Township | Knife Lake Township | Kroschel Township | Peace Township | Pomroy Township | South Fork Township | Whited Township
Brunswick | Coin | Kroschel | Lewis Lake | Warman | Woodland
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1865 - Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Emigration and Immigration
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Kanabec – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local histories are available for Kanabec County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kanabec County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Online Probate Records
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.
Societies and Libraries
Kanabec History Center
PO Box 113
805 West Forest Avenue
Mora MN 55051-0113
Central Minnesota Historical Center
Centennial Hall, Room 148
St. Cloud University
St. Cloud, MN 56301
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Kanabec County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kanabec_County,_Minnesota accessed 13 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kanabec County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kanabec County, Minnesota page 365, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).