To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kalundborg City Parish, Holbæk, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kalundborg City, Holbæk, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Kalundborg Municipality is a municipality on the west coast of the island of Zealand in Denmark and the main town and site of its municipal council is the city of Kalundborg. The municipality is surrounded by water on three sides.
On January 1, 2007 Kalundborg municipality was, as the result of The Municipal Reform of 2007, merged with existing Gørlev, Hvidebæk, Bjergsted, and Høng municipalities to form the new Kalundborg municipality.
[1]

Add here
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Add here
Pastorat (chapelry) Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Holbæk
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/370
Gods (estate) Byfoged; Byret; Grevskabet Lerchenborg; Kalundborg Ladegård gods; Lerchenfeld gods


Place Names[edit | edit source]


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Holbæk Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Holbæk" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]