Kalawao County, Hawaii Genealogy
Guide to Kalawao County, Hawaii ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Kalawao County, Hawaii|
Location in the state of Hawaii
Location of Hawaii in the U.S.
|Address|| County Courthouse (judicial dist. of Maui)|
200 S. High Street
Kalana O Maui Bldg, 7th Fl
Wailuku, HI 96793
Kalawao County Clerk Website
- 1 Historical Facts
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Biography
- 2.2 Cemeteries
- 2.3 Census
- 2.4 Church Records
- 2.5 Court Records
- 2.6 Directories
- 2.7 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.8 Ethnic, Political and Religious Groups
- 2.9 Gazetteers
- 2.10 Genealogy
- 2.11 History
- 2.12 Land and Property
- 2.13 Maps
- 2.14 Migration
- 2.15 Military
- 2.16 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.17 Newspapers
- 2.18 Obituaries
- 2.19 Probate
- 2.20 Public Records
- 2.21 Repositories
- 2.22 Description
- 2.23 Taxation
- 2.24 Vital Records
- 2.25 Websites
- 3 Populated Places
- 4 References
- Parent County: created in 1905 from Maui County.
- County seat: Kalaupapa 
- Neighboring Island: Maui
The county is on the Kalaupapa Peninsula, on the north coast of the island of Moloka'i. The small peninsula of Kalaupapa is isolated from the rest of Moloka'i by sea cliffs over a quarter-mile high — the only land access is a mule trail.
Kalawao County is a separate county from the rest of Moloka'i, which is part of Maui County. Maui County does not claim jurisdiction over the three villages of Kalaupapa, Kalawao, and Waikolu. Some maps, however, do not show Kalawao as a separate county.
The county is coextensive with the Kalaupapa National Historical Park, and encompasses the Kalaupapa Settlement where the Kingdom of Hawaii, the territory, and the state once exiled persons suffering from leprosy (Hansen's disease) beginning in the 1860s. The quarantine policy was lifted in 1969, after the disease became treatable on an outpatient basis and could be rendered non-contagious. However, many of the resident patients chose to remain, and the state has promised they can stay there for the rest of their lives. No new patients or other permanent residents are admitted.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Hawaii Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Kalawao County, Hawaii Genealogy census records online, see: Hawaii Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Hawaii denominations, view the Hawaii Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political and Religious Groups
Community Trees - Hawaii. Kalawao. Kalaupapa. Date range: 1800s-1900s.
The purpose of the Kalaupapa project was to preserve, gather, source, and share information from the records of the patients, employees, volunteers, and kokua (helper) who resided in the Kalaupapa Leper Settlement on the Island of Molokai, Hawaii, beginning in 1865. A variety of records were used to glean information about these people. These records included arrival, birth, marriage, death, and burial records, and census population schedules. To view records click here.
Local histories are available for Kalawao County, Hawaii Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Hawaii Local Histories.
Land and Property
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship
State Health Department has marriage, death, birth, wills, probate and land records.
Kalawao does not have a county government. The only law enforcement is a local resident selected by the State Department of Health, which administers the county.
There is no County Seat and was Founded 1905. It is located in Makanalua Peninsula, the north coast of the island of Molokaʻi.
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. The State office has some records as early as 1853 up to the present. See the State of Hawaii, Department of Health website for information on acquiring the records and any restrictions.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog. Enter United States, Hawaii, Kalamao as Place.
- Kalawao County, Hawaii Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kalawao County, Hawaii . Page 170 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 169.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kalawao County, Hawaii page 170, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Kalawao County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kalawao_County,_Hawaii
- Wikipedia contributors, "Kalawao County, Hawaii," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kalawao_County,_Hawaii, accessed 7 February 2019.