To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

København County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to København ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History[edit | edit source]

Copenhagen County is a former county on the island of Zealand in eastern Denmark. It covered the municipalities in the metropolitan Copenhagen area, with the exception of Copenhagen and Frederiksberg. Effective January 1, 2007, the county was abolished and merged into Region Hovedstaden, Copenhagen Capital Region.

Archives, Societies, and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Many records from places in København County are held by the Danish State Archives in Copenhagen. Records are also available from the State Archives' website ArkivalierOnline.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Districts[edit | edit source]

There are two herreds in København County:

  • Smørum Herred
  • Sokkelund Herred

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information[edit | edit source]

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

Parishes[edit | edit source]

Kirke HyllingeRyeKirke SonnerupKirke SåbySæbyLyndbyGevningeKirke HvalsøKisserupAllerslevSærløseOstedHerslevKornerupSvogerslevRoskilde DomsognGlimVor FrueHimmelevFløngHvedstrupÅgerupKirkerupGundsømagleJyllingeVindingeReerslevKildebrøndeGreveTuneSnoldelevKarlslundeKarlstrupHavdrupSolrødJersieKirke SkensvedRorupGadstrupSyvDåstrupØrstedBorupKimmerslevNørre DalbyEjbyHøjelseØlsemagleKøge CityHøje TåstrupTorslundeIshøjSengeløseTåstrup NykirkeSmørumLedøjeMåløvVærløseBallerupGlostrupHerstedøsterHerstedvesterVallensbækBrøndbyvesterBrøndbyøsterVedbækSøllerødVirumBagsværdHerlevLundtofteTårbækLyngbyGentofteGladsakseIslevHvidovreKøbenhavn CityKøbenhavn CityKastrupKastrupTårnbyStore MaglebyDragørRødovreKobenhavn Map.jpg

Map of parishes: København(Copenhagen) county and Roskilde county

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Estates[edit | edit source]

  • Alkestrup-Egemarke gods Regimentsskriver
  • Benzonsdal gods
  • Benzonseje gods
  • Bernstorff gods
  • Bistrup gods
  • Bregentved gods Regimentsskriver
  • Cathrinebjærg gods
  • Christiansminde gods
  • Edelgave gods
  • Egholm gods
  • Frederiksdal gods
  • Gammel Køgegård gods
  • Gjeddesdal gods
  • Grevskabet Ledreborg gods
  • Herslev sognekalds mensalgods
  • Hvedstrup-Fløng sognekalds mensalgods
  • Hyllinge-Lyngby sognes annex- og mensalgods
  • Krabbesholm gods
  • Krabbesholm gods Regimentsskriver
  • Københavns stads og magistrats gods
  • Københavns Universitetets gods
  • Københavns Universitetets gods kommunitetets gods på Sjælland
  • Ledreborg gods
  • Lejre herredsfogeds gods
  • Lindholm gods
  • Lindholm gods Regimentsskriver
  • Roskilde domkirkes gods
  • Roskilde Duebrødre klosters gods
  • Roskilde jomfruklosters gods
  • Rye præstegaards gods
  • Ryegård og Trudsholm gods
  • Sonnerup gods
  • Spanager gods
  • Svenstrup gods
  • Svenstrup gods Regimentsskriver
  • Trudsholm gods
  • Vartov Hospital gods Regimentsskriver
  • Vartov hospitals gods
  • Vibygård gods
  • Ågerup-Kirkerup sognekalds mensalsgods