To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Jones County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Jones County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Trenton
Organized: April 14, 1778
Parent County(s): Craven[1]
Neighboring Counties
Carteret  • Craven  • Duplin  • Lenoir  • Onslow
See County Maps
Courthouse
Jones County Courthouse, North Carolina - panoramio.jpg
Location Map
Nc-jones.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Jones County is located in the southeastern portion of North Carolina and was named for radical Revolutionary War leader and Anti-Federalist Willie Jones.[2]

Jones County Courthouse
PO Box 189
Trenton, NC 28585
Phone: 252-447-2551

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913, marriage records from 1850, land records from 1779 and military discharge records.
Clerk of the Court has probate records from 1779, court and divorce records.

Jones County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1850 1913 1807 1779 1779 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1862 Courthouse was burned during Civil War battle, many court records destroyed.
See Jones County list of extant records (NCGenWeb).

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1778 Jones County was created 14 April 1778 from Craven County.
  • County seat: Trenton[4]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Jones County, North Carolina:

  • Chadwick, Combs Fort, Comfort, Debruhls Landing, Hargetts Crossroads, Jones Corner, Maysville, Oak Grove, Olivers, Olivers Crossroads, Perfection, Phillips Crossroads, Pleasant Hill, Pollocks, Pollocksville, Ravenswood, Sassers Mill, Shady Grove, Simmons Corner, Taylors Corner, Tenmile Fork, Trenton, Wise Forks
  • Jones County Post Offices (USPS)

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Jones County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical Populations
Census Pop.
19008,226
19108,7216.0%
19209,91213.7%
193010,4285.2%
194010,9264.8%
195011,0040.7%
196011,0050%
19709,779−11.1%
19809,705−0.8%
19909,414−3.0%
200010,38110.3%

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

Christian

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

American Indians

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Aiken, Nancy, Minutes of the Jones County, North Carolina Court of Common Pleas and Quarter Sessions, 1826-1841, Heritage Books, 2002. (Google Books link without preview)
  • Gwynn, Zae Hargett, Abstracts of the Records of Jones County, North Carolina, 1779-1868, Vol. 1, self-published, 1963. (Google Books link without preview) (information in Genealogy.com)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncjones.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Jones County for European settlers included:[7]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Jones County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jones County:

- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 1st Company
- 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 3rd Comppany

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Jones County newspapers. List of newspapers that have been published in the county. Provides details on libraries that hold back issues. (Library of Congress)
  • Jones County Post. Current paper, part of the Kinston Free Press.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Neuse Regional Library
    Kinston, NC
    Website
    Serving Lenoir, Greene and Jones Counties

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Heritage Genealogical Society
    PO Box 6204
    Kinston, NC 28501
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/jones
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jones County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. 5.0 5.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:305, 315. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  6. Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.