To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Johnson County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Johnson County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png



Johnson County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Johnson County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 13, 1854
County Seat Cleburne
Courthouse
TexasJohnsonCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Johnson County Courthouse
PO Box 662
Cleburne, TX 76031
Phone: 817.556.6311

County Clerk has marriage, land and probate records from 1854,
birth and deat records from 1903; District Clerk has divorce records[1]

County Clerk

P.O. Box 1056
Cleburne 76033
Phone: 817-556-6315
Fax: 817-556-6326

District Clerk

P.O. Box 495
Cleburne 76033
Phone: 817-556-6836

Johnson County Courthouse was constructed in 1913 by the architects Lang and Witchell.  It is constructed with brick and concrete.  The courthouse is located on the square in Cleburne, Texas

Johnson County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1903 1854 1903 1852 1854 1854 1829
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1903.
General compliance by the 1930s.


History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1854--Johnson County was created 13 February 1854 from McLennan, Hill, Ellis, and Navarro Counties.

  • County seat: Cleburne [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Cities & Towns: Alvarado | Cross Timbers | Bono | Venus | Lillian |Brair Oaks |  |  Cleburne | Cross Timbers | Godley | Grandview | Joshua | Keene | Rio Vista     Burleson  Cleburne

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Bosque  • Dallas  • Ellis  • Hill  • Hood  • Parker  • Somervell  • Tarrant

Resources[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
BillionGraves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
BillionGraves TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone Interment
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Additional Cemetery Sources

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190033,819
191034,4601.9%
192037,2868.2%
193033,317−10.6%
194030,384−8.8%
195031,3903.3%
196034,72010.6%
197045,76931.8%
198067,64947.8%
199097,16543.6%
2000126,81130.5%


Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Johnson County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • A memorial and biographical history of Johnson and Hill counties, Texas : containing the early history of this important section of the great state of Texas together with glimpses of its future prospects...  Digitized book online at archive.org:  Volume 1
  • Johnson County Bios and History  ~  TXGenWeb
  • Johnson County Landmarks  ~  TXGenWeb
  • Texas Museums  ~  List of all museums in Texas  ~  Hidden Ancestors

Maps[edit | edit source]

Parker CountyTarrant CountyEllis CountyHill CountyBosque CountySomervell CountyHood CountyTX JOHNSON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Military[edit | edit source]

Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Johnson County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1256
Cleburne, TX 76033-1256
will do simple lookups in publications and microfilm.
Please enclose a stamped, self-addressed envelope along with the request.
Website

The Mansfield (Tx) Historical Society
101 East Broad St
Mansfield, TX 76063
Telephone Number: 817-473-4250
Hours are Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday 11AM to 4PM
Mrs. Fran Nafong is available on Thurs.

Johnson County Genealogical Society
PO Box 10246
Cleburne 76033

Burleson Public Library
248 Sw Johnson Ave
Burleson, TX 76028
Telephone Number: 817-295-6131
Website


Cleburne Public Library
302 W Henderson St
Cleburne, TX 76033
Telephone Number: 817-645-0934
Website


Alvarado Public Library
210 N Baugh St
Alvarado, TX 76009
Telephone Number: 817-783-7323
Website


Joe A Hall High School And Community Library
12 Bulldog Dr
Venus, TX 76084
Telephone Number: 972-366-8353
Website


Joshua School & Public Library
907 S Broadway St
Joshua, TX 76058
Telephone Number: 817-202-2547
Website


Grandview Public Library
112 S 3rd St
Grandview, TX 76050
Telephone Number: 817-866-3965


  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Center[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

303 S Nolan River Road Cleburne TX 76031

817 645-0566

Hours Tuesday and Thursday 9am-12pm, Wednesday 6pm-9pm

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Johnson County, Texas. Page 667 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Johnson County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).