Johnson County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Johnson County

Guide to Johnson County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Warrensburg
Organized: December 13, 1834
Parent County(s): Lafayette[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cass  • Henry  • Jackson  • Lafayette  • Pettis
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriJohnsonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Johnson County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Richard M. Johnson. The County has Warrensburg as its seat and the County was created December 13, 1834. The County is located in the west central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Johnson County Courthouse
300 N Holden Street
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: 660-747-6161
Johnson County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893.
Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records from 1835.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records from late 1860s.
Probate Judge has probate records from mid-1800s.[3]

Johnson County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1835 1883 1860s 1835 mid-1800s 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1834 Johnson County was created 13 December 1834 from Lafayette County.
  • County seat: Warrensburg[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Johnson County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Portrait and Biographical Record of Johnson and Pettis Counties, Missouri. 1895. Chicago : Chapman Pub. Co. Available online at FamilySearch; Ancestry ($)

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Johnson County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
St. Patrick, Holden

  • 1869-1876 St. Patrick, Holden, Baptism Index 1869-1876. Batch C511991 at FamilySearch.[6]
  • 1869-1883 St. Patrick, Holden, Marriage Index 1869-18?3. Batch M511991 at FamilySearch.

Sacred Heart, Warrensburg

  • 1871-1876 Sacred Heart, Warrensburg, Baptism Index 1871-1876. Batch C511811 at FamilySearch.
  • 1872-1881 Sacred Heart, Warrensburg, Marriage Index 1872-1881. Batch M511811 at FamilySearch.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Johnson County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

{{{county}}}

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Johnson County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Johnson County, Missouri:

- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company F
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- Pindall's Battalion, Missouri Sharpshooters - Confederate, Company A
- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company M

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Sedalia newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's that sometimes included Johnson County residents.

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Mary Miller Smiser Heritage Library
    Website

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/11/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Johnson County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.