Johnson County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Johnson County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Johnson County

Guide to Johnson County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Olathe
Organized: August 30, 1855
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cass (MO)  • Douglas  • Franklin  • Jackson (MO)  • Leavenworth  • Miami  • Wyandotte
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasJohnsonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Johnson County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for American missionary Thomas Johnson. The County has Olathe as its seat and the County was created August 25, 1855. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Johnson County Courthouse
111 S. Cherry Street
Olathe, Kansas 66061-3195
Phone: 913.764.8484
Johnson County Website

Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1861.
Probate Court has marriage and probate. [3]

Johnson County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1911 1857 1911 1861 1857 1857 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Johnson County, Kansas:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Cities included in Shawnee Mission, a postal designation encompassing cities or regions thereof in northeastern Johnson County, headquarter post office located in Mission.

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Johnson County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

The Digital Cemetery is a photo-index of grave markers in the cemeteries in Johnson County. Includes complete cemetery transcriptions with photos taken from 2005-2010. Also includes cemetery histories, cemetery maps and diagrams, and searchable indexes with photos of markers and lost cemetery information. Johnson County Cemeteries

  • Adams Burial Ground (Native American)
  • Antioch Pioneer Cemetery, est. 1872
  • Asa Smith Burial
  • Aubry Pioneer Cemetery
  • Boles Cemetery
  • Campbell Cemetery (aka Indian, Duffner Rd, Fisher Rd, Horse Thief)
  • Corinth Cemetery, est. 1872
  • Cross Cemetery
  • De Soto (Silent City) Cemetery, est. 1871
  • Edgerton Cemetery, est. 1858
  • (Williams) Family Cemetery
  • Four Corners (Mount Pleasant) Cemetery, est. 1879
  • Fuller Cemetery
  • Gardner Cemetery, est. 1857
  • Highland (Nall) Cemetery
  • Johnson County Memorial Gardens, est. 1955
  • Lenexa Cemetery, est. 1872
  • Lexington Cemetery (Removed)
  • Linwood Pioneer Cemetery, est. 1873
  • Maupin Family Cemetery
  • Monticello Cemetery, est. 1899
  • Mt. Calvary Catholic Cemetery, est. 1885
  • Murphy Family Cemetery, est. 1871
  • Oak Lawn Memorial Gardens, est. 1957
  • Olathe Memorial Cemetery, est. 1865
  • Pleasant Ridge Cemetery, est. 1883 (aka Redpath)
  • Pleasant Valley Cemetery (McCamish Twp)
  • Pleasant Valley Cemetery, est. 1881 (Stanley)
  • Pleasant View Cemetery, est. 1895
  • Prairie Center Cemetery, est. 1885
  • Resurrection Catholic Cemetery, est. 1955
  • Shawnee Cemetery, est. 1872
  • Shawnee Indian Cemetery
  • Shawnee Methodist Mission Cemetery
  • Shawnee Mission Memory Gardens, est. 1973
  • Shawnee Town Mock Cemetery
  • Spring Hill Cemetery, est. 1860
  • St Columbia Catholic Cemetery
  • St Columbine Catholic Cemetery
  • St John Catholic Cemetery
  • St Joseph Catholic Cemetery
  • Tomahawk Cemetery, est. 1870
  • Union Cemetery, est. 1884
  • Woodland Cemetery, est. 1874

Animal Cemetery

  • Woolford Farms Horse Cemetery

Lost Cemeteries The lost cemeteries below were marked on historical atlas maps, mentioned in historic diaries of the period, or mentioned in land records.

  • Baptist Mission Church Cemetery
  • Cedar Junction Cemetery
  • Friends (Quaker) Mission Cemetery
  • Indian Creek Chapel Cemetery (aka Scarrett's Chapel)
  • Lanesfield Cemetery
  • Matthew King Burial Ground
  • Unknown Cemetery (Lexington Twp)
  • Unknown Cemetery (McCamishTwp)
  • Unknown Cemetery (MonticelloTwp)
  • Unknown Cemetery (Oxford Twp)

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 4,364
1870 13,684 213.6%
1880 16,853 23.2%
1890 17,385 3.2%
1900 18,104 4.1%
1910 18,288 1.0%
1920 18,314 0.1%
1930 21,179 15.6%
1940 33,327 57.4%
1950 62,783 88.4%
1960 143,792 129.0%
1970 220,073 53.0%
1980 270,269 22.8%
1990 357,048 32.1%
2000 451,086 26.3%
2010 544,179 20.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[8] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[9] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Johnson County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Jefferson CountyLeavenworth CountyWyandotte CountyDouglas CountyFranklin CountyMiami CountyCass County, MissouriJackson County, MissouriJohnson CountyJohnson, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Early migration routes to and from Johnson County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Johnson Co KSGenWeb Obituaries, Death Notices, News Articles & Probate Notices Taken from Johnson County, KS Newspapers 1860-1907 (not complete)

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Johnson and click Probate records.


Will records are indexed on Johnson Co KSGenWeb and includes accession, location, volume and page. The records are held in the Johnson County Archives in Olathe, KS.

Online Records

Johnson County Kansas District Court Criminal/Juvenile/Traffic, Civil, and Probate court records; Marriage Licenses.

Johnson Co KSGenWeb Obituaries, Death Notices, News Articles & Probate Notices Taken from Johnson County, KS Newspapers 1860-1907 (not complete)

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

The State of Kansas began recording births in 1911. No birth records were kept in Johnson County prior to 1911.

Marriage

Death

The State of Kansas began recording deaths in 1911. No death records were kept in Johnson County prior to 1911.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Johnson County Genealogical Society And Library
PO Box 12666
Shawnee Mission 66282-2666
E-mail: info@jcgsks.org
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Kansas" 8/15/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Johnson County, Kansas page 252, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Johnson County, Kansas. Page 252 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 235.
  5. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 18 September 2017.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  9. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.
  10. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  11. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  12. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).