Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Iowa
Johnson County

Guide to Johnson County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Johnson County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Johnson County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1837
County Seat Iowa City
Courthouse


County Information

Johnson County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1839 1880 1840 1839 1839

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1837--Johnson County was created 21 December 1837 from Dubuque, Cook, and Muscatine Counties.  It was attached to Cedar County prior to organization 4 July 1838.  County seat: Iowa City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Benton • Cedar • Iowa • Linn • Louisa • Muscatine • Washington

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran
  • Records of the Zion Lutheran Church, Iowa City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Directories

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Aurner, Clarence Ray. Leading events in Johnson County, Iowa history. Cedar Rapids, Iowa : Western Hist. Press, 1912-1913.
  • Iowa City Board of Trade. Sketch of Johnson County, Iowa : with a review of its early history and subsequent development, its educational, manufacturing, agricultural, and other interests. Iowa City, Iowa : Board of Trade, 1880.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company F
- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company B
- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company M
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 28th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

*Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection -- access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. *NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Cedar Rapids newspapers that may have included Johnson County residents. This database is free at some libraries. 
  • Iowa City Press Citizen.1920-27, 1938-41, 1946-48, 1950-53, 1955, 1960, and 1968-73. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Iowa City Citizen.1892, 1908-11, and 1916-19 Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Iowa City Daily Press. 1904-15 Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Daily Iowa State Press. 1899-1902, 1904, and 1971. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Iowa Citizen. 1891-94, 1903, and 1905-06. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Daily Citizen. 1892-93 and 1901. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Iowa State Press. 1903. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Iowa City Daily Citizen.1916. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Iowa City Volksfreund. 1874-76. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • State Press.1894. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Daily State Press.1894. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Iowa Quest.1948-55. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • The Daily Iowan.1939, 1947, and 1955. Iowa City, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Lone Tree Reporter. 1926. Johnson, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Johnson - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Iowa City Genealogical Society (Johnson County)
P.O. Box 822
Iowa City IA 52244-0822
Website

Family History Centers

  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free Select from research collection topics
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "johnson county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "johnson county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Johnson County IA at LDS Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Johnson County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Johnson County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Johnson County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).