Johnson County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Johnson County, Indiana)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Johnson County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Franklin
Organized: 1823
Parent County(s): Delaware New Purchase
Neighboring Counties
Marion  • Shelby  • Bartholomew  • Brown  • Morgan
See County Maps
Courthouse
Indiana, Johnson County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Indiana, Johnson County Locator Map.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for John Johnson, a judge of the Indiana Supreme Court.[1] It is located in the Central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Johnson County Courthouse
1st Floor
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317-736-3708
County Website

Johnson County Health Department
460 N Morton St Suite A
Franklin, IN, 46131
Health Officer: Craig Moorman, MD
Phone Number: 317-346-4365
Fax: 317-736-5264
Health Department

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1830.
County Recorder has land records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Johnson County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1830 1882 1830 1825 1830 1807
Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

May 1849 and December 1874 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. Records that survived include marriages from 1830, “complete” court records from 1823, recorder’s entry book from 1822, and deeds and deed indexes from 1824.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Townships
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Johnson County, Indiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Johnson County census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 4,019
1840 9,352 132.7%
1850 12,101 29.4%
1860 14,854 22.8%
1870 18,366 23.6%
1880 19,537 6.4%
1890 19,561 0.1%
1900 20,223 3.4%
1910 20,394 0.8%
1920 20,739 1.7%
1930 21,706 4.7%
1940 22,493 3.6%
1950 26,183 16.4%
1960 43,704 66.9%
1970 61,138 39.9%
1980 77,240 26.3%
1990 88,109 14.1%
2000 115,209 30.8%
2010 139,654 21.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Johnson County courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Johnson County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Marion CountyShelby CountyBartholomew CountyBrown CountyMorgan CountyIN JOHNSON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Johnson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Johnson County.

Civil War Books:

  • "Johnson County And Civil War" Chapter 14 in History of Johnson County, By Elba L. Branigin. 1913. Indiana. Indianapolis, In: B.F. Bowen & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digitial Library; Internet Archive
  • "Military History" Chapter 9 in History of Johnson County Indiana: from the earliest time to the present with biographical sketches ... . By D. D. Banta. 1970. Evansville, In: Unigraphic. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive

World War I

World War II

  • Johnson County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps NARA

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Johnson County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

  • Tax Books and/or Delinquent List 1843 through 1889 are housed at the Johnson County Museum of History in their Genealogy Library.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Johnson County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

North Vernon Indiana Family History Center
430 Hayden Pike
North Vernon IN 47265
Email: IN_NorthVernon@familyhistorymail.org
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Johnson County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.

Johnson County Museum of History - Genealogy Library
135 N. Main Street
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317-346-4500
Email:ltalley@co.johnson.in.us
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Johnson County Museum of History
135 N. Main Street
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317-346-4500
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Johnson County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Johnson County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/johnson/ 3/29/2017.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Indiana 3/29/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Indiana, accessed 16 December 2019.