Jewell County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Jewell County

Guide to Jewell County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mankato
Organized: 26 February 1867
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cloud  • Mitchell  • Nuckolls (NE)  • Osborne  • Republic  • Smith  • Webster (NE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasJewellCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Jewell County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Lieutenant Colonel Lewis R. Jewell of the 6th Regiment Kansas Volunteer Cavalry. The County has Mankato as its seat and the County was created February 26, 1887. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Jewell County Courthouse
307 N Commercial
Mankato, KS 66956-2025
Phone: 785.378.3121
Jewell County Website

Clerk District Court has marriage, probate, divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records 1886-1894, cemetery records from 1860’s, land records from 1871, military records from 1889, yearly census assessment rolls 1871-1908 and school records from 1884.[3]

Jewell County, Kansas Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1886 1886 1886 1872 1871 1870 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Jewell County, Kansas:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Allen
  • Athens
  • Browns Creek
  • Buffalo
  • Burr Oak
  • Calvin
  • Center
  • Erving
  • Eston
  • Grant
  • Harrison
  • Highland
  • Holmwood
  • Ionia
  • Jackson
  • Limestone
  • Montana
  • Odessa
  • Prairie
  • Richland
  • Sinclair
  • Vicksburg
  • Walnut
  • Washinton
  • White Mound


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Jewell County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

Burr Oak web site with access to Burr Oak, Jewel County, Kansas Cemetery list. Burr Oak Cemetery

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 207
1880 17,475 8342.0%
1890 19,349 10.7%
1900 19,420 0.4%
1910 18,148 −6.5%
1920 16,240 −10.5%
1930 14,462 −10.9%
1940 11,970 −17.2%
1950 9,698 −19.0%
1960 7,217 −25.6%
1970 6,099 −15.5%
1980 5,241 −14.1%
1990 4,251 −18.9%
2000 3,791 −10.8%
2010 3,077 −18.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[8] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[9] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jewell County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Republic CountySmith CountyOsborne CountyMitchell CountyCloud CountyJewell CountyWebster County, NebraskaNuckolls County, NebraskaJewell, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

  • Jewell County was not organized until after the Civil War.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Jewell and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Jewell County Historical Society
118 N. Commercial
Mankato, KS 66956
Telephone: 785-545-7658
Please leave message or send text
E-mail: jwchsmuseum@gmail.com
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Jewell, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jewell_County,_Kansas" 8/15/2017.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jewell County, Kansas. Page 252 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 235.
  5. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Jewell County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jewell_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 17 September 2017.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  9. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.