Jersey Church Records
|Jersey Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
For information about records for non-Christian religions in Jersey, go to the Religious Records page.
In Jersey the word parish has two rather different meanings. There is the ecclesiastical parish, much as there is in England, but alongside it there is the civil parish, governed by the Constable, complete with its own honorary police force and municipal administrative functions.
The civil and ecclesiastical parish authorities are closely linked - under Jersey law the civil parish is responsible for the upkeep of the external structure of the parish church, and the parish Rector is ex officio a member of the municipality.
Update: Transcripts to most of the parish registers up to 1842 available here:
- Jerripedia: Includes indexes to all available baptisms, marriages and burials to 1842, and l910 in St Helier, plus BMD from 1842. Free access
- Jerripedia database: Includes all available baptisms, marriages and burials to 1842, and now also includes the index to BMD from 1842 to c1915. Free access
- The Jersey Archive website has online images of the Channel Island Family History Society transcripts of BMBs and some post-1842 BMBs. Transcriptions of baptism records for the St Helier Town Church from 1842 - 1909 created by Archive volunteers are also available to view online.
Also available at Ancestry.com:
Church of England Records from 1540 – 1915 for baptisms and 1540 – 1940 for marriages and burials have now been digitized and are available at Jersey, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1540-1812.
Also available on FindMyPast:
- Jersey Baptisms 1540-1915, index, ($)
- Jersey Marriages 1542-1940, index, ($)
- Jersey Burials 1541-1940, index, ($)
Please be aware that the early records for the parish of St John are partly missing. The original records were lost and the CIFHS transcript was copied from the original records a few decades ago. However before the original records went missing an early transcript was made in the late 1800s, known as the Messervy Transcript and this can be viewed in person at Jersey Archive
Parish registers described here relate to the ecclesiastical parish. Civil registration, introduced to Jersey in 1842, is at bottom the responsibility of the civil parish, although each civil parish registrar submits their records to the Superintendent Registrar in St Helier.
The historic parish registers were deposited with the Jersey Archive and transcripts were made by the CIFHS - these are available on open shelving for research. They cover the following periods:
- Grouville - Baptisms 1584-1842, Marriages 1598-1842, Burials 1593-1842
- St Brelade - 1560-1882
- St Clement - 1623-1842
- St Helier - 1596-1842. In addition baptism registers covering the period from 1842-1909 have been transcribed and the records can be located via the Jersey OPAC.
- St John - 1583-1842 - early records only available by ordering the Messervy Transcript at Jersey Archive
- St Lawrence - 1654-1842
- St Martin - 1593-1960
- St Mary - 1648-1842
- St Ouen - 1634-1842
- St Peter - 1626-1842
- St Saviour - 1541-1842
- Trinity - Baptisms 1624-1842, Marriages 1612-1899, Burials 1612-1842
Registers after 1842 are generally held at Office of the Superintendent Registrar, 10 Royal Square, St. Helier, Jersey, JE2 4WA. It is free to look at the records and it is open from 9 am - 12.30 pm although if there is a wedding in progess you may have to leave for 20 minutes or so. You can email firstname.lastname@example.org - even if nothing to do with marriages! The staff are very helpful and can do searches for you for a set fee.
Jersey Archive Holdings
Jersey Archive holds records from the Church of England, Catholic, Methodist, Independent Church and the Ecclesiastical Court.
Church of England
The archive holds the parish registers of these Church of England parishes: St Helier, St Clement, St Martin, St Saviour, St Mary, St Ouen, St Matthew, St Simon, St Andrew, St Marks, Grouville, St Brelade, St Lawrence, St John, St Peter, Trinity, Gouray, All Saints, St Luke and St James.
The Archive holds the baptism, marriage and burial records of the following Roman Catholic Churches; St Thomas’, St Mary and St Peters, St Matthew’s, Sacred Heart, St John and St Anthony Chapel (baptisms only) and St Anne’s (baptisms only). There are also indexes for the St Thomas’ records available to order. These records have not been digitized.
The Archive also holds baptism, marriage and burial registers for the majority of Methodist Chapels in the Island. The Methodist collection also contains lists of Sunday School attendees, membership lists and class books which can prove useful for the family historian. Early registers appear within the Circuit records and then later within individual chapels and span the years 1836 – 1989. These records have not been digitized.
Records are also held for the following Independent Churches; Halkett Place Evangelical Church – Registers from 1809 – 1947, New Church Society – Registers from 1844 – 1987, United Reformed Church – Registers from 1827 – 1965, Jersey Baptist Church and the Presbyterian Church. These records have not been digitized.
In addition to the ecclesiastical parishes, a number of district churches were built from the mid-19th century onwards, the majority of them in St Helier. At first the registration of baptisms and burials was organised through the registers at the Town Church, but in due course nearly all of them gained the right to manage their own registrations. (However, to this day the large urban church of St Paul in New Street registers its baptisms, marriages and burials through the Town Church).
Two of the district churches have districts which straddle more than one parish - Gouray church district is split between St Martin and Grouville, while St Luke is split between St Saviour, St Helier and St Clement. Records from these churches were originally managed through St Martin and St Saviour respectively)
The only district church that has thus far made its registers of baptisms and burials available for transcription is Gouray - transcripts are held at Jersey Archive.
The Superintendent Registrar holds copies of marriages from the registers at the following district churches:
- All Saints (1852-)
- Gouray (1901-)
- St Andrew (1855-)
- St James (1904-)
- St Luke (1852-)
- St Mark (1917-)
- St Simon