Jelling Parish, Vejle, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Vejle County
Jelling


History

Jelling parish is rich with history. Anciently, Jelling was the seat of Gorm the Old, the last pagan king of Denmark. Gorm was buried in a viking burial mound just outside the church and also situated next to the church are the famous Jelling stones created to commemorate Gorm and his wife Thyra.

The Jelling church was burned by fire on 3 April 1673. Then on 1 July 1679 the priest's farm house was burned as well.

Jelling Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Haderslev Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Jelling Pastorat
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Koldinghus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Vejle
Herred (district) Tørrild
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 61-62
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 47-48
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 3 / 245 - 246
Gods (estate) Skanderborgske rytterdistrikt gods; Haraldskær gods; Engelsholm gods; Låge gods; Lerbæk gods; Skovgård gods; Mindstrup gods; Brandholm gods


Place Names

Anesminde,

Baggesholm, Bøgelund,

Eliseholm,

Fårup, Fårup Huse, Fårup Sø, Fårupgaard,

Gravenslund,

Haughus, Hopballe, Hopballe Mølle, Hornstrup, Hørup,

Jelling, Jelling Mark, Jelling Skov,

Kiddegaard, Kiddelund,

Moseby, Mølvang,

Rugballe,

Skovbølling, Skovdallund, Styvel, Styvel Mark,

Vester Hornstrup

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Bredsten

Gadbjerg

Givskud

Grejs

Hover

Hvejsel

Kollerup

Nørup

Skibet

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
The parish records of Jelling and Hover (which belongs to the same chapelry) for the years 1751-1770 have been transcribed and are searchable for free at http://www.vejle.lokalarkiver.dk/vsf/transskriberinger/KB_Vejle_Torrild_Jelling-Hover_1751-1770.pdf This can be used to complete research in these two parishes faster. Names are written as spelled in the original document.
The Jelling parish records begin in 1750, but have several gaps and information is missing. Here is a list of what records are available:
  • Christenings: 1751-1753, 1755, 1763-present
  • Marriages: 1751-1751, 1763-present
  • Confirmations: 1769-present
  • Burials: 1750-1753, 1755, 1763-present
  • Moving in Lists: 1814-1875
  • Moving out Lists: 1814-1875

  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Vejle Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Vejle" and then select your parish.


References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/, Dec 2011
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4d ed. Vol.7, Aarhus og Vejle Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920