To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Jeffersonville Township Public Library

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jeffersonville Township Public Library

Contact Information[edit | edit source]


Description of Collections[edit | edit source]

The Indiana Room at Jeffersonville Township Public Library is committed to providing the region's finest genealogy and local history service. Our collection includes a wide variety of materials, including microfilm collections, books and periodicals, maps, and photographs. Our collection emphasizes Clark County, Indiana, history and genealogy, but we also have a collection of materials related to nearby counties, the states of Indiana and Kentucky, and migration routes that have led families to our area.

Our microfilm collection includes various Clark County, Indiana, newspapers printed before 1872, Jeffersonville Evening News 1872- present (not inclusive), The National Democrat 1972-1916 (not inclusive), and other area newspapers; Clark County, Indiana, marriage records beginning in 1808; Clark County birth and death records beginning in 1882; Clark County government and court records from 1802-1900 (not inclusive); U.S. Census records for 1790; U.S. Census records for most Indiana Counties from 1820-1880 and 1900-1930; and assorted other historical records including abstracts for properties in the Illinois Grant.

In our paper collection, you will find a wide variety of materials. Print materials include Clark County vital records and some court records, assorted Jeffersonville city records, family and local histories, historical information about area businesses, U.S. census records for Indiana, Indiana periodicals including Indiana Magazine of History, and a wide variety of other resources. Filed materials include family files, historical files, files on recent Clark County history, and numerous photos. In our map collection, you will find historical and recent county plat maps, fire insurance maps, and political maps.

Services[edit | edit source]

Reference

Our full-time genealogy and local history librarian or any member of our Public Services staff will be delighted to assist you with your genealogy and local history questions. We accept questions made in person, by phone, by email, or by post.

Classes

Our genealogy and local history librarian offers classes on a wide variety of subjects, including beginning genealogy. Please call us for more information or see this link for information about upcoming courses: http://jtpl.evanced.info/signup/calendar. We welcome suggestions for class topics.

History[edit | edit source]

Jeffersonville Township Public Library began over 100 years ago in 1900. From the beginning, the library has collected items of interest to genealogists. Eventually, the genealogy collection grew to occupy its own room in the library. With the recent outpouring of interest in genealogy, the library hired its first full-time genealogy and local history librarian in 2013. The genealogy collection continues to expand its collections to better serve the genealogy community.

Tips for Your Visit[edit | edit source]

  • Write down all of the genealogical information you can for the relatives you want to research: names; family members; birth, marriage, and death dates; employment, church, and court information; and anything else you think might be important. Bring the information with you when you visit the library.
  • Determine the research questions you'd like to answer during your visit.
  • Call ahead to learn the genealogy and local history librarian's hours.
  • If you're coming from out of town, learn as much as you can from sources available in your area, such as public library databases and FamilySearch. The more you have done prior to your visit, the better you'll be able to focus on gleaning what you can from our unique materials.

Guides[edit | edit source]

Click this link to subscribe to our newsletter: SUBSCRIBE.