Jefferson Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Jefferson Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Jefferson Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 11, 1825|
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Bible Records
- 5.3 Biographies
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for President Thomas Jefferson. The County has Gretna as its seat and the County was created February 11, 1825. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Jefferson Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Jefferson Parish Courthouse
200 Derbigny Street
Gretna, LA 70053
Parish Clerk has marriage records from 1863, divorce, probate, and court records from 1825 and land records from 1827.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Family Bible of Antonino Maggiore and Angelina Rando (USGenWeb Archives)
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Index to Jefferson Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Jefferson Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Jefferson Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- 1862-1991 - Salem Evangelical Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana, by city (Church Angel)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Index to Jefferson Parish Land Records (USGenWeb Archives]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Jefferson Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Project)
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1883 - Jefferson Parish 1883 Pensioners List (Genealogy Trails)
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 - Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Jefferson Parish Korean War Casualties (USGenWeb Archives)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Louisiana Newspaper List, listing by name/parish (USNPL)
- Louisiana Newspaper listing (Newslink)
- Jefferson Parish, Louisiana, Newspaper Articles (Genealogy Trails)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Search the Jefferson Parish Library Obituary Database
- Index to Jefferson Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to Jefferson Parish Obituaries (LAGenWeb Project)
- Jefferson Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Jefferson Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1756-1984 - Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry — index and images $
- Jefferson Parish Probate Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
- 1859 Jefferson Parish Delinquent Tax List (Genealogy Trails)
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information, where and how to order information.
- Jefferson Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Jefferson Genealogical Society
PO Box 961
Metairie, LA 70004-0961
- Jefferson Historical Society
4014 Connecticut Avenue
Kenner, LA 70065
- Jefferson Parish Historical Commission
PO Box 113014
Metairie, LA 70011-3014
- Gretna Historical Society
209 Lafayette Street
Gretna, LA 70053
- Jewish Genealogical Society of New Orleans
PO Box 7811
Metairie, LA 70010-7811
- Westbank Genealogical Society
2751 Manhattan Blvd.
Harvey, LA 70058-6144
- Westwego Historical Society and Museum
275 Sala Ave
Westwego, LA 70094
- Francaise Comite Louisiana
Metairie, LA 70003-5213
- Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
- Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - link to search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Jefferson Parish website
- Jefferson Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
- City of Gretna website
- Jefferson Parish (LAGenWeb)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Jefferson Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Genealogy Trails, Jefferson Parish, Louisiana
- Jefferson Parish LA LDS Genealogy
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Jefferson Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 2 January 2020.