To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Jefferson Davis Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 12, 1912
County Seat Jennings
Courthouse
LAJeffersonDaviscourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Jefferson Davis Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 


Parish Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Jefferson Davis. The County has Jennings as its seat and the County was created January 1, 1913. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[1]

Jefferson Davis Parish Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914 1913 1914 1913 1913 1913 1700s
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1914. General compliance year unknown. (website says 1918 births; 1911 deaths)

Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Jefferson Davis Parish Courthouse
500 East Court Street PO Box 730
Jonesboro, La 71251
Phone: 318-259-2424

Parish Clerk has marrige, divorce, land, probate,military, and court records from 1880.[3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent Parish[edit | edit source]

  • 1912--Jefferson Davis Parish was created 12 June 1912 from Calcasieu Parish.
    Parent seat: Jennings [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Jefferson Davis, Louisiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the Parish
See Louisiana Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Jefferson Davis Parish cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Census Pop.
192018,999
193019,7654.0%
194024,19122.4%
195026,2988.7%
196029,82513.4%
197029,554−0.9%
198032,1688.8%
199030,722−4.5%
200031,4352.3%
Est. 200631,418[5]−0.1%
Jefferson Davis Parish Census Data[6]

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court[edit | edit source]

Ethnic[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]
American Indian[edit | edit source]

Indian Village Cemetery Records, Jefferson Davis Parish. FHL film 206299 item 26 WorldCat

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Beauregard ParishAllen ParishEvangeline ParishAcadia ParishVermilion ParishCameron ParishCalcasieu ParishLA JEFFERSON DAVIS.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
Korean War[edit | edit source]
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Jennings Genealogical Society
    136 Greenwood Drive
    Jennings, LA 70546-4302
  • Louisiana Historical Society
    Website
  • Louisiana Historical Association
    Website
  • Jefferson Davis Parish Library
    118 West Plaquemine Street
    Jennings, LA
    Phone: 337-824-5444
    Website
    Genealogy room features original collection of bound volumes of voter registration cards circa 1920-1935, Catholic church records compiled by Rev. Donald J. Hebert, and other helpful resources. The Carnegie Public Library is across the street; both libraries have helpful genealogical resources.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson Davis, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Davis_Parish,_Louisiana."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Jefferson Davis Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. United States Census Bureau. "Jefferson Davis Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22053.html. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  6. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.