To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Jefferson County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Jefferson County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Jefferson
Organized: December 7, 1836
Parent County(s): Milwaukee[1]
Neighboring Counties
Dane  • Dodge  • Rock  • Walworth  • Waukesha
See County Maps
Courthouse
Jefferson County Courthouse Wisconsin.jpg
Location Map
WI Jefferson.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Jefferson County, New York. The County has Jefferson as its seat and the County was created 1839. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Jefferson County Courthouse
320 S Main Street
Jefferson, WI 53549-1718
Phone: 920-674-7140
County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and marriage records from 1850, death records from 1840 and land records from 1838.
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce records from 1851 and court records from 1843.
Register in Probate has probate records from 1840. [3]

Jefferson County, Wisconsin Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1850 1850 1840 1843 1838 1840 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1836--Jefferson County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County.
  • County seat: Jefferson[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Jefferson County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 914
1850 15,317 1575.8%
1860 30,438 98.7%
1870 34,040 11.8%
1880 32,156 −5.5%
1890 33,530 4.3%
1900 34,789 3.8%
1910 34,306 −1.4%
1920 35,022 2.1%
1930 36,785 5.0%
1940 38,868 5.7%
1950 43,069 10.8%
1960 50,094 16.3%
1970 60,060 19.9%
1980 66,152 10.1%
1990 67,783 2.5%
2000 74,021 9.2%
2010 83,686 13.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Jefferson census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Johnson Creek, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Dodge CountyWashington CountyWaukesha CountyWalworth CountyRock CountyDane CountyWI JEFFERSON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Jefferson served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jefferson:

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies E, I and L
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies D, E and K
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C
- 13th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies H and I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For Dodge and Jefferson counties, order newspaper clippings from Dodge/Jefferson Counties Genealogical Society

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Jefferson Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Jefferson Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

  • Jefferson County, Wisconsin bride & groom index This has a groom and then a bride index; marriage date is included in index. Contents: [vol. 1]. Vol. A, 1833 (2), 1840-1846 (384), 1851-1855 (10) -- [v. 2]. Vol. B, 1846-1848 -- [v. 3]. Vol. C, 1848-1856 -- [v. 4]. Vol. E, 1852-1867 -- [v. 5]. Vol. F, 1848-1868. Vols. 1-3 bound together as 1 vol.; vols. 4-5 bound together also.

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

  • Special Collections, Area Research Center, University Archives
    Anderson Library, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
    800 West Main Street
    P.O. Box 900
    Whitewater, WI 53190-0900
    Telephone: 262-472-5520
    Email: archives@uww.edu
    Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Anderson Library, University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
    Special Collections, Area Research Center, University Archives
    800 West Main Street
    P.O. Box 900
    Whitewater, WI 53190-0900
    Telephone: 262-472-5520
    Email: archives@uww.edu
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Bark River Woods Historical Society
    W4080 St Rd 106
    Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-9681
    Phone: 920-563-4773
  • Concord Historical Society, Inc.
    PO Box 561
    Watertown, WI 53094
    Website
  • Palmyra Historical Society
    Main & Third Streets
    PO Box 265
    Palmyra, WI 53156-0265
    Phone: 262-495-4245 or 262-495-2412
    Website
  • Other Historical Societies

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_County,_Wisconsin, accessed 14 September 2018.