Jefferson County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Jefferson County

Guide to Jefferson County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Charles Town
Organized: January 8, 1801
Parent County(s): Berkeley[1]
Neighboring Counties
Berkeley  • Clarke (VA)  • Frederick (VA)  • Loudoun (VA)  • Washington (MD)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Jefferson County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-jefferson.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Thomas Jefferson. The County has Charles Town as its seat and the County was created January 8, 1801. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Jefferson County Courthouse
P O Box 208
Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone: 304-728-3215
Jefferson County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1853, military records from 1918 (except Civil War years), marriage, probate and land records from 1801.[3]

Jefferson County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1801 1801 1801 1810

Record Loss

1803 Fire burned the courthouse in 1803, but records still exist from 1801 on.

Boundary Changes

  • 1801--Jefferson County was created 8 January 1801 from Berkeley County.
  • County seat: Charles Town[4]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Occupations

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (Together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. FHL Collection. Includes sections on Charles Town, Harper's Ferry, and Shepherdstown silversmiths.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Jefferson County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Jefferson census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1810 11,851
1820 13,087 10.4%
1830 12,927 −1.2%
1840 14,082 8.9%
1850 15,357 9.1%
1860 14,535 −5.4%
1870 13,219 −9.1%
1880 15,005 13.5%
1890 15,553 3.7%
1900 15,935 2.5%
1910 15,889 −0.3%
1920 15,729 −1.0%
1930 15,780 0.3%
1940 16,762 6.2%
1950 17,184 2.5%
1960 18,665 8.6%
1970 21,280 14.0%
1980 30,302 42.4%
1990 35,926 18.6%
2000 42,190 17.4%
2010 53,498 26.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Zoar (1799)[6]

Jefferson County fell within the bounds of the Ketocton Association.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Berkeley Monthly Meeting (1778-1832) formerly Bullskin[7]

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]


Compiled genealogies that treat multiple Jefferson County families include:

  • O'Dell, Cecil. Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia. Marceline, Mo.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Collection. One of the most impressively researched one-place studies in the United States. In a review, Dorman stated "Comprehensive studies such as this appear only rarely. This volume should be in every Virginia genealogical collection."[8]
  • Cartmell, T. K. Shenandoah Valley Pioneers and Their Descendants: A History of Frederick County, Virginia (Illustrated) from Its Formation in 1738 to 1908, Compiled Mainly from Original Records of Old Frederick County, Now Hampshire, Berkeley, Shenandoah, Jefferson, Hardy, Clarke, Warren, Morgan and Frederick. n.p.: n.p., c1909. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.59 H2c 1963; FHL US/CAN Film 1000634 Item 1; digital version at Ancestry ($); Digital view FamilySearch Books Online and World Vital Records ($).


  • Beeler - Pappas, Carolyn H. "Christopher Beeler, 1705-1775," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1999):243-255; Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):18-30; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):115-125. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Dandridge - Kennedy, Mary Selden. Seldens of Virginia and Allied Families. New York: Frank Allaben Genealogical Co., c1911. Digital versions of Vol. 1 at Google Books; Internet Archive Internet Archive; FHL Book 929.273 Se48k.
  • Daniel - Woods, Dorothy J. and Michael E. Pollock. "The Daniel/Daniels Family in Berkeley and Jefferson Counties," Frederick Findings, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Winter 1988):19-24; Vol. 1, No. 2 (Spring 1988):80-87; Vol. 1, No. 3 (Summer 1988):139-145; Vol. 1, No. 4 (Fall 1988):219-222; Vol. 2, No. 1 (Winter 1989):41-49; Vol. 2, No. 3 (Summer 1989):157-167; Vol. 2, No. 4 (Fall 1989):251-258; Vol. 3, No. 1 (Winter 1990):1-10; Vol. 3, No. 2 (Spring 1990):79-88; Vol. 3, No. 3 (Summer 1990):175-188; Vol. 3, No. 4 (Fall 1990):207-212. FHL Book 975.59 D25f.
  • Hefflebower - Rohrbach, Lewis Bunker. Hoffelbauer Genealogy, 1585-1993, The American Families Hefelbower, Heffelbower, Heflebower, Hefflebower, Heflybower, Hefflibauer, Heflibauer and Heffelbauer Together with Their German and Austrian Ancestry. Camden, Me.: Picton Press, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 H675rL.
  • Hieronymus - Gentry, Veronica J. Descendants of Conrad Hironimus (Heironimus) Whose Will Was Probated in Frederick Co., Virginia in 1816. MSS., available at FHL.
  • Hieronymus - Chenault, Louise Ryan, John P. Hieronymus, Dorothy Hieronymus, and George P. Unseld. The Hieronymus Story. Salt Lake City, Utah, 1959.
  • Hieronymus - Hieronymus Family in America. The Hieronymus Story, 1985. Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, 1985. Available at FHL.
  • Hite - The Colonial Dames of America. Ancestral Records and Portraits, 2 vols. New York: The Grafton Press Publishers, 1910. Digitized by Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II - both free.
  • Kennedy - Kennedy, Mary Selden. Seldens of Virginia and Allied Families. New York: Frank Allaben Genealogical Co., c1911. Digital versions of Vol. 1 at Google Books; Internet Archive Internet Archive; FHL Book 929.273 Se48k.
  • Little - Horner, Frederick. The History of the Blair, Banister and Braxton Families Before and After the Revolution: With a Brief Sketch of Their Descendants. Philadelphia: J.P. Lippincott, 1898. FHL Film 1550788 Item 7; digital versions at Google Books - free and Internet Archive - free.
  • Lowndes - The Colonial Dames of America. Ancestral Records and Portraits, 2 vols. New York: The Grafton Press Publishers, 1910. Digitized by Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II - both free.
  • Motter - Russell, Donna Valley. "Valentine Motter of Middletown," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan. 1987):3-9; Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr. 1987):51-56.
  • Ranson - The Colonial Dames of America. Ancestral Records and Portraits, 2 vols. New York: The Grafton Press Publishers, 1910. Digitized by Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II - both free.
  • Rutherford - The Colonial Dames of America. Ancestral Records and Portraits, 2 vols. New York: The Grafton Press Publishers, 1910. Digitized by Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II - both free.
  • Sinclair - Hall, Newman Arnold. "Allerton of Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 32, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1988):83-92; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1988):171-178; Vol. 32, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1988):287-296; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1989):13-18; Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1989):94-102; Vol. 33, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1989):175-180. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 32 (1988)-v. 33 (1989).
  • Snyder - Lowe, Elizabeth Snyder. Roots and Branches of the Jacob Snyder Family Tree. 1997. Digital version at FamilySearch
  • Strother - Owen, Thomas McAdory, "William Strother of Virginia and His Descendants," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Apr. 1898):149-173. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  • Turner - Tyler, Lyon G. "The Blackburns, of 'Ripon Lodge,'" The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 4 (Apr. 1896):266-269. Digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • Vanswearingen - Daniels, Frances C.T. Some Descendants of Garrett Vanswearingen of St. Mary's, Maryland. Georgetown, Del.: A.B. and R.P. Thompson, 1983. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Yates - Roberts, Gary Boyd. The Royal Descents of 600 Immigrants to the American Colonies or the United States: Who Were Themselves Notable or Left Descendants Notable in American History. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2008. FHL Book 973 D2rrd 2008; online bookstore; 2004 digital edition at Ancestry ($).

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jefferson County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Jefferson County

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Jefferson County on page 134.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.

War of 1812

Jefferson County men served in the 55th Regiment.[9]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Jefferson served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jefferson County:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Jefferson Guards), Company B (Hamtramck Guards), Company G (Botts Greys), Company H (Letcher Riflemen), and Company K (Floyd Guards).
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company A (The Wildcat Company).[10]
- 12th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Baylor Light Horse) and Company D.[11]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Jefferson County.

Map showing Civil War battles in West Virginia.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • 1802-1820 Heinegg, Paul. "Jefferson County Personal Property Tax List, 1802-1820," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Jefferson County is included in Vol. 6.

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

  • Good, Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert. Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 04 July 2018.
  6. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 386-387. Digital version at Google Books.
  7. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  8. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):236.
  9. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 114. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  10. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  11. Dennis E. Frye, 12th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 42.
  12. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  13. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  14. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 25 September 2012)
  15. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 25 September 2012)