Jefferson County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Jefferson County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Jefferson County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 17, 1836|
|Address|| Jefferson County Courthouse|
PO Box 1151
Beaumont, TX 77704
Adams County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Biographies, Autobiographies & Memoirs
- 4.2 Books & Articles
- 4.3 Cemeteries
- 4.4 Census
- 4.5 Churches & Religious Organizations
- 4.6 Court
- 4.7 Funeral Homes
- 4.8 Historical Markers
- 4.9 Land
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Newspapers
- 4.14 Obituaries
- 4.15 Probate
- 4.16 Taxation
- 4.17 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Clerk has birth and death records 1903-1966,
marriage, land, probate, court and military disharge
records from 1836; District Clerk has divorce records
P.O. Box 1151
P.O. Box 3707
Jefferson County, Texas Record Dates
The Cypress Bayou Settlement in the Mexican municipality of Liberty was the nucleus from which the present area of Jefferson County grew.
1836--Jefferson County was created 17 March 1836 from Old Mexican Municipality.
- County seat: Beaumont 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|Billion Graves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Billion Graves (cemetery)||TX Gravestones|
|Names in Stone||Interment|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Churches & Religious Organizations
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Beaumont - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- China - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Groves - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Fannett - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Hamshire - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Hempstead - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Nederland - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Nome - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Port Acres - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Port Arthur - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Port Neches - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
- Sabine Pass - Jefferson County TXGenWeb
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Jefferson County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Jefferson County:
- 1862 - September 24-25, 1862 = Sabine Pass I
- 1863 - September 8, 1863 = Sabine Pass II
- Map showing Civil War battles in Texas.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Obituaries - Rootsweb
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840-1981 Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
- 1903-1909 Jefferson County Births - 1903-1909 - Jefferson County TXGenWeb site
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index) - FamilySearch
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973FamilySearch record collection
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 FamilySearch records collection
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1838-2002 Jefferson County Marriages - 1838-2002 - TXGenWeb
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 FamilySearch record collection
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890–1976 [with images] Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1903-1915 Jefferson County Deaths - 1903-1915 - Jefferson County TXGenWeb site
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2005 Jefferson County Divorces - 1968-2005 - TXGenWeb
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
The Tyrrell Historical Library Archives
801 Pearl Street
Beaumont, TX 77701
Beaumont Historical Library
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, Texas. Page 667 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State