Jefferson County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Jefferson County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Jefferson County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||December 12, 1914|
|Address||Jefferson County Courthouse|
75 SE C Street
Madras, Or 97741-1709
Jefferson County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Jefferson County, Oregon Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Historical Facts
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Neighboring Counties
- 7 Resources
- 7.1 Cemeteries
- 7.2 Census
- 7.3 Church History and Records
- 7.4 Court Records
- 7.5 Gazetteers
- 7.6 History
- 7.7 Land and Property
- 7.8 Maps
- 7.9 Military History and Records
- 7.10 Newspapers
- 7.11 Probate Records
- 7.12 Rivers and Waterways
- 7.13 Taxation
- 7.14 Vital Records
- 8 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 9 Websites
- 10 Jefferson County Oregon Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Mount Jefferson. The County is located in the north central area of the state. 
Jefferson County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1914. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Jefferson County Court House as of July 2011.
Jefferson County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs maintain separate government.
- Culver was the county seat 1914 to 1916
- Record Loss:
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are locations in the county:
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
|Native American communities|
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Indian Reservation[edit | edit source]
Warm Springs (Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs)
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Jefferson County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Jefferson County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (Backup site)
Jefferson County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_County,_Oregon, accessed 10 November 2018.