Jefferson County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Jefferson County
 

Guide to Jefferson County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Pine Bluff
Organized: November 2, 1829
Parent County(s): Arkansas and Pulaski[1]
Neighboring Counties
Arkansas  • Cleveland  • Grant  • Lincoln  • Lonoke  • Pulaski
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasJeffersonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-jefferson.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for President Thomas Jefferson. The County Seat is Pine Bluff and was founded November 2, 1829.[2] It is located in the centre of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Jefferson County Courthouse
101 W Barraque Street
Pine Bluff, AR 71601
Phone: 870.541.5360
Jefferson County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1830 and probate records from 1845;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[4]

Jefferson County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1830 1914* 1837 1830 1845 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1829--Jefferson County was created 2 November 1829 from Arkansas and Pulaski counties.
  • County seat: Pine Bluff[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Anrep
  • Bruce
  • Byrd's Spring
  • Clements
  • College Park
  • Diantha
  • Dolton
  • Fairfield
  • Jefferson
  • Kratnek
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Barraque
  • Bogy
  • Bolivar
  • Dudley Lake
  • Dunnington
  • Jefferson
  • Melton
  • Niven
  • Old River
  • Pastoria
  • Plum Bayou
  • Richland
  • Roberts
  • Spring
  • Talladega
  • Vaugine
  • Victoria
  • Villemont
  • Washington
  • Whiteville


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Jefferson County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

  • 1818 August 24 - The Quapaw ceded their lands to the U.S. government.
  • 1800s (early) - One of the first permanent settlers of record in Jefferson County was Joseph Bonne, who brought his Quapaw family from to live on a pine tree–covered bluff on the Arkansas River.
  • 1890s - Jefferson County entered what historian Jim Leslie has referred to as the Golden Era. Because of its prodigious cotton production and location near the Arkansas River, the county attracted many industries, businesses, and public institutions.
  • 1927-1930s - The Flood of 1927 is considered Jefferson County’s worst natural disaster, killing dozens of people and destroying tens of thousands of acres of cotton and hundreds of farmsteads and homes. With the Great Depression of the 1930s, it took the county decades to reclaim the economic status it was gaining before the flood.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Jefferson, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1830 772
1840 2,566 232.4%
1850 5,834 127.4%
1860 14,971 156.6%
1870 15,733 5.1%
1880 22,386 42.3%
1890 40,881 82.6%
1900 40,972 0.2%
1910 52,734 28.7%
1920 60,330 14.4%
1930 64,154 6.3%
1940 65,101 1.5%
1950 76,075 16.9%
1960 81,373 7.0%
1970 85,329 4.9%
1980 90,718 6.3%
1990 85,487 −5.8%
2000 84,278 −1.4%
2010 77,435 −8.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Biographies from The History of Jefferson County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1830-1930 Jefferson County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds 1850-1859; Administration bonds and letters 1862-1906; Administration records 1856-1862; Administration, executor and guardian bonds 1859-1862; Dockets 1830-1889; Executor bonds and letters 1862-1930; Probate records 1863-1890; Wills 1839-1927

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Pulaski CountyLonoke CountyPrairie CountyGrant CountyCleveland CountyLincoln CountyArkansas CountyAR JEFFERSON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Jefferson County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company D
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate) , Company G
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 15th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Josey's) (Confederate)
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate) Companies A, D and K
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- Pine Bluff Artillery, Arkansas (Confederate)

Online Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Jefferson County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jefferson County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


[1] from the following from 1866 to current time:

  • Pine Bluff Commercial
  • Pine Bluff Graphic
  • Pin Bluff News
  • Pine Bluff Eagle
  • White Hall Journal
  • Pine Bluff Dispatch
  • The Negro Spokesman
  • The Jefferson Republican
  • Weekly Echo

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[11] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Jefferson County Genealogical Society Jefferson County Museum 4th and State Street Pine Bluff, Arkansas, 71613

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Jefferson County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/jeff/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jefferson County, Arkansas. Page 68 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_County,_Arkansas, accessed 18 September 2018.
  8. Russell E. Bearden, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=779&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Jefferson County.”
  9. 9.0 9.1 FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  11. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.