Jeff Davis County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Jeff Davis County

Guide to Jeff Davis County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

TX ORP.png

Jeff Davis County, Texas
Map of Texas highlighting Jeff Davis County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Founded March 15, 1887
County Seat Fort Davis
Jeff Davis County Courthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

County Courthouse

Jeff Davis County Courthouse
PO Box 398
Fort Davis, TX 79734-0398
Phone: 915.426.3251

County Clerk has death records from 1904,
birth records from 1883, divorce records
from 1946, marriage, probate, court and land
records from 1887[1]

County and District Clerk

P.O. Box 398
Fort Davis 79734
Phone: 432-426-3251

Jeff Davis County has had two courthouses: the first courthouse built in 1880 and the current one built in 1910-11. [2]

Jeff Davis County Courthouse
101 State Street
Fort Davis, Texas 79734

Jeff Davis County Government Website

Jeff Davis County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1931 1890 1887 1887


Parent County

  • 1887--Jeff Davis County was created 15 March 1887 from Presidio County.
  • County seat: Fort Davis [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Fort Davis | Valentine

Neighboring Counties

Brewster  • Culberson  • Hudspeth  • Pecos  • Presidio  • Reeves

Hudspeth CountyCulberson CountyReeves CountyLoving CountyWard CountyPecos CountyJeff Davis CountyBrewster CountyPresidio CountyWinkler CountyTX JEFF DAVIS.JPG


African American


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Additional Cemetery Sources


Historical populations
Census Pop.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.



After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Jeff Davis County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.




Mexican-American War
Civil War
World War I


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jeff Davis County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).



Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records


Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.


Online Birth Indexes and Records


Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Online Death Indexes and Records


Societies and Libraries

  • Jeff Davis County Library
    100 Memorial Sq
    Fort Davis, TX 79734
    Telephone Number: 432-426-3802

  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jeff Davis County, Texas. Page 667 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Jeff Davis County
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).