Jasper County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Jasper County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
County in South Carolina Lowcountry.
|Jasper County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
|Founded||January 30, 1912|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Description
- 3 Jasper County, South Carolina Record Dates
- 4 County Courthouse
- 5 History
- 6 Places/Localities
- 7 Resources
- 7.1 Research Guides
- 7.2 African Americans
- 7.3 Cemeteries
- 7.4 Census
- 7.5 Church
- 7.6 Court
- 7.7 DNA
- 7.8 Genealogy
- 7.9 Land
- 7.10 Local Histories
- 7.11 Maps
- 7.12 Migration
- 7.13 Military
- 7.14 Newspapers
- 7.15 Periodicals
- 7.16 Probate
- 7.17 Taxation
- 7.18 Vital Records
- 8 Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- 9 Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
- 10 Websites
- 11 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Jasper County is located in the south central location of the state.
Jasper County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Jasper County Courthouse
305 Russell St.
Ridgeland, SC 29936
Register of Deeds
358 Third Ave.
Ridgeland, SC 29936
Clerk of Court
265 Russell Street
Ridgeland, SC 29936
P.O. Box 1028
Ridgeland, SC 29936
Probate and marriage records
9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday
History[edit | edit source]William Jasper (c1750-1779).
Parent County[edit | edit source]
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Jasper County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|SCGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- To view a cemetery list, see Jasper County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- National Cemetery Administration
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1829-1920 - South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
1920 and 1930 federal population schedules of Jasper County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
Church[edit | edit source]
Church of England[edit | edit source]
See also St. Luke's Parish
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Jasper County has court records from 1912 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Jasper County was formed from Beaufort and Hampton Counties in 1912 so these are counties which may also be searched.
DNA[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.
- Jasper County, SC Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Jasper County, SC Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
Land[edit | edit source]
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Jasper County:
|1769-1865||Beaufort District Records Lost|
|1670-1710||Proprietary Land Grants|
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Perry, Grace Fox. Moving Finger of Jasper. unknown: unknown, 1952. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Todd, John Reynard and Francis M. Huston. Prince William's Parish and Plantations. ( Richmond, Virginia: Garrett & Massie, c1935), 265 pages. Written with the idea of tracing, as briefly and accurately as possible, the physical development and transition of the Prince William's Parish secion of South Carolina from the earliest days of settlement to the present. Book found at FHL 975.79 H2t and Other Libraries.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Jasper County for European settlers included:
Military[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- "Head Quarters muster roll, 1779," Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin, Fall 1970, Volume 7, Issue 2. Carolinas Genealogical Society : Monroe, NC. FHL Collection Book 975 B2c.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Jasper County did not exist during the Civil War. Present day Jasper County was created 30 January 1912 from Beaufort and Hampton Counties. During the Civil War, men from the area of Jasper County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in Beaufort and Hampton Counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Jasper County:
One battle was fought in what is now Jasper County at Honey Hill on November 30, 1864. For additional information, see Battles in South Carolina.
Map showing Civil War battles in South Carolina
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Jasper County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Jasper County Record (Ridgeland, S.C.) 1924-1951.
- The Beaufort-Jasper News (Beaufort, S.C.) 1939-1939.
- The Jasper Herald (Ridgeland, Jasper County, S.C.) 1911-1919.
University of South Carolina Library Catalog
- Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1671-1977 - South Carolina Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732-1964 - South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — images
- 1782-1866 - South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at findmypast — $, index
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Jasper County.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Jasper County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Jasper County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages - Indexes and Records
- 1912-1950 - Jasper County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1912-1950  FHL Collection - records
- 1912-1952 - Marriage Registers (Jasper County, South Carolina), 1912-1952  FHL Collection - index and records
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Jasper County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths - Indexes and Records
- 1816-1990 - South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — index
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Jasper County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Jasper County, SCGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Jasper County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- "Jasper County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jasper_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jasper County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "NAME OF ARTICLE," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jasper_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 26 December 2019.
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- South Carolina. Probate Court (Jasper County), Jasper County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1912-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.
- South Carolina. Probate Court (Jasper County), Marriage Registers (Jasper County, South Carolina), 1912-1952, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2005.