Jalapa Department, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Guatemala Wiki Topics
Flag of Guatemala.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Guatemala Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Guatemala is Dwsmith2
Guatemala
Department of Jalapa

Guide to Department of Jalapa ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

Department of Jalapa

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

  • On February 23, 1848, the division of Mita was decreed into three districts: Jutiapa, Santa Rosa and Jalapa.
  • Jalapa returned to its previous condition of dependence on Jutiapa until November 24, 1873, when the new Department of Jalapa was established.
  • The Department of Jalapa has a population of approximately 243,000 people. [1]

Municipalities

San Luis JilotepequeSan Pedro PinulaSan Carlos AlzatateMataquescuintlaJalapaMonjasSan Manuel ChaparrónJalapa Department Map.png
About this image

Civil Registration and Church Records

Most of the research you will do will be in these two records.


Additional online records may be listed in the Family History Library Catalog for places within Guatemala, Jalapa.

Reading the Records

  • Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:





Building a Family Record with a Search Strategy

Many articles on strategy are available on the Wiki, but here is a simple set of steps to guide you

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth/baptism/christening record, then search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents, and even the names of their parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.

References

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Jalapa (Guatemala)," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jalapa_(Guatemala). Visited 1 August 2017.