Jackson County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Jackson County

Guide to Jackson County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Jackson County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 11, 1853
County Seat Black River Falls
Courthouse
Address Jackson County Courthouse
307 Main Street
Black River Falls, WI 54615;
Phone. 715.284.0201



WI Jackson.png

County Information

Jackson County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1861 1853 1860 1854 1869

County Courthouse

Jackson County Courthouse
307 Main Street
Black River Falls, WI 54615;
Phone. 715.284.0201

 
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records;
Clerk of Court has divorce and court records;
Register in Probate has probate records [1]

Historical Facts

Andrew Jackson

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845).[2]

Parent County

1853--Jackson County was created 11 February 1853 fromLa Crosse County. 
County seat: Black River Falls [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

WI JACKSON.JPG

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clark  • Eau Claire  • Juneau  • La Crosse  • Monroe  • Trempealeau  • Wood

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
Interment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Jackson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Jackson County.

- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company G (Men were listed in the Roster as being from the city of Albion, which could have been from the counties of Dane, Trempealeau or Jackson.)
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at: Wisconsin Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Jackson County Historical Society
13 S First St
Black River Falls WI 54615
Telephone: 715-284-5314
Facebook

Monroe-Juneau-Jackson-Genealogical Workshop
PO Box 363
Sparta, WI 54656
Website

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Jackson County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. "List of counties in Wisconsin," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).