Jackson County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Jackson County
 

Guide to Jackson County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Newport
Organized: November 5, 1829
Parent County(s): Independence[1]
Neighboring Counties
Craighead  • Cross  • Independence  • Lawrence  • Poinsett  • White  • Woodruff
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasJacksonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-jackson.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Jackson County Courthouse
208 Main Street
Newport, AR 72112
Phone: 870.523.7420
Jackson County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1843 and probate records from 1845;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1845 and land records.[2]

Jackson County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1843 1914* 1845 1845 1845
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Jackson County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Jackson County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1760-1800 - French and Spanish trappers hunted in what would become Jackson County.
  • 1822 - Early explorer Obediah Cartwright and his Indian guide, Leauteau, explored what would later be known as Jack’s Creek at the future town of Jacksonport.
  • 1829 November 5 - Jackson County was created.
  • 1829 - Because no towns existed in Jackson County, the first county seat was at the house of early pioneer Thomas Wideman, the house being about centrally located in the county.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Jackson County hit its high mark in 1930 (27,900) and has gone down to a present (2010) count of 17,900.

Additional Information

Andrew Jackson.JPG

The county is named after President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845).[6]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Jackson County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Arkansas Gravestones enter a name and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1830-1945 Jackson County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian dockets 1879-1887; Administration bonds 1846-1861; Administration bonds and letters 1858-1913; County Court records 1830-1843 and 1858-1862; Dockets 1850-1882; Executor records 1863-1945; Guardian bonds and letters 1885-1898 and 1920; Probate case files 1835-1890; Probate records 1836-1886; Wills 1845-1928.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Jackson CountyWoodruff CountyPrairie CountyWhite CountyCleburne CountyIndependence CountyIzard CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyGreene CountyCraighead CountyPoinsett CountyCross CountySt. Francis CountyCrittenden CountyMonroe CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountyStone CountyRandolph CountyARJackson.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Jackson County on page 191.]

Civil War

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[7], Company D
- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company A
- 7th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[8]
- 31st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[9], Companies A, B and H
- 45th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate) [10]
- Ford's Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[11], Companies G and I

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jackson County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Online Tax Records

Tax Records on Microfilm

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Robert D. Craig, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=778&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Jackson County.”
  6. "List of counties in Arkansas," Wikipedia.
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, The Seventh Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988) FHL book 976.7 M22adw
  9. Ronald R. Bass, History of the Thirty-first Arkansas Confederate Infantry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1996), p. 12 FHL book 976.7 M2ba
  10. Desmond Walls Allen, Forty-fifth Arkansas Confederate Calvary, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 1. FHL book 976.7 M2af
  11. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  13. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.