Itchen Stoke with Abbotstone, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Hampshire
Hampshire Parishes
Itchen Stoke with Abbotstone


Guide to Itchen Stoke with Abbotstone, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Itchen Stoke with Abbotstone, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bountsborough
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Alresford
Registration District Alresford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alresford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History

ITCHIN-STOKE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Alresford, hundred of Bountisborough, Winchester and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 1½ mile (W. by N.) from Alresford with the ancient parish of Abbotson.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Itchen Stoke with Abbotstone, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
ITCHEN STOKE WITH ABBOTSTONE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 623-628. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.