Itawamba County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Itawamba County

Guide to Itawamba County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Fulton
Organized: 9 February 1836
Parent County(s): Chickasaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Franklin (AL)  • Lee  • Marion (AL)  • Monroe  • Prentiss  • Tishomingo
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiItawambaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Itawamba County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

This county was named for Levi Colbert (the Chickasaw leader, Itawamba). Itawamba County is located in the northeast area of the state. [2] The Itawamba County Courthouse was built ca. 1852 with a major redesign during 1972.

County Courthouse

Itawamba County Courthouse
201 W Main Street
P.O. Box 776
Fulton, MS 38843
Phone: 662-862-3421
Itawamba County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records.[3]

Itawamba County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1837 1836 1854 1840

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1836 Itawamba County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
  • County seat: Fulton[4]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Over the years, lands in Itawamba County were transferred to three different counties – Tishomingo, Prentiss and Lee. Lee County, formerly embraced within the limits of Itawamba and Pontotoc counties, was established October 26, 1866 with the largest portion of its land coming from Itawamba County (a strip ten miles wide off western Itawamba County, from north to south). The old Itawamba lands east of the line between Ranges 5 and Ranges 6 (old Itawamba-Pontotoc county line) for ten miles went to the new county. This included many old Itawamba County towns such as Baldwyn, Guntown, Saltillo, Tupelo, Verona and Shannon.

On April 15, 1870, Tishomingo County was split into three counties – Alcorn, Prentiss and Tishomingo. At this time a strip running east to west three miles wide along the northern border of Itawamba went to the counties of Tishomingo and Prentiss. The former Itawamba County lands going to Tishomingo County included thirty square miles. The former Itawamba County lands going to Prentiss County included thirty-six square miles

Populated Places

The following are locations in Itawamba County, Mississippi:

  • Fulton
  • Mantachie
  • Tremont

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Itawamba County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Itawamba County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Itawamba County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Prentiss CountyTishomingo CountyLee CountyMonroe CountyAlabamaFranklin CountyMarion CountyMS ITAWAMBA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Itawamba County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Itawamba County:

- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company B - Mooresville Darts
Company I - Rifle Scouts
Company K - Mississippi Yankee Hunters
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company B - Ben Bullard Rifles
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry(New)
Company C - Ben Bullard Rifles (also listed as Co. D)
Company G - Fulton Guards (also listed as Co. B)
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Mooresville Blues
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company C – Town Creek Riflemen
Company E – Calhoun Rifles
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Ashcraft's)
Company A - Davis’ Company
Company D - Kohlheim’s Company
Company E - Story’s Company
Company F - Hankins’ Company
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
Company B - Insurgents
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company B - Griffin’s Company
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company B - Brown’s Company
Company C - Pardue’s Company
- 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company F - Shackelford’s Company
- 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's))
Company F - Shackelford’s Company
Company G - Duke’s Company, aka Duke’s Company of Independent Scouts

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Itawamba County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Itawamba County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Gaither Spradling Research Library
    The George Poteet History Center
    (Corner of Church Street and Museum Drive)
    Mantachie, MS
    Website
A state-of-the-art 2,400 square foot facility, houses the Itawamba Historical Society's Gordon McFerrin Auditorium. Also located in this facility are the society's general offices.
The library's holdings include more than 1,600 volumes of research material devoted not only to Itawamba County, but most all southern states as well. The society subscribes to more than 30 regional genealogical publications. The library's collections also include general history and general genealogical areas, a large microform collection, archival materials and family history files.

Museums

Societies

  • The Itawamba Historical Society
    PO Box 7
    Mantachie, MS 38855
    Phone: 662-282-7664
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Itawamba, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Itawamba_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.